You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is your real follower count? Introducing SubBot!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

It only seems to.
I guess it depends on definition of what to call a nice amount. Name your number.

I'm open to discussion, but I can not answer all the questions.

My observations so far tell that curation rewards are small and likely is not an adequate compensation for your input.

Sort:  

At first I thought it should be possible to earn about 1% curation rewards. The 1% is based on your total amount of SP.

But you seem to prove that it could be much higher. Atm you have about 3.5%. At least of you had about the same amount of SP last week. And if that's the case, you should even be able to gain a higher percentage.

Your strategy is somehow based on upvoting quite new posts without any upvotes. I didn't fully investigate your strategy, so now I'm just guessing that you preferably vote for a few tags in combination with high reputations?
And I would also guess that this takes a lot of time or that you build a bot?

Anyways think of the profit you could make when you have 10k or even 100k SP. When if you lease SP the profit could be huge.

The strategy is more complex than you describe but yes, you can say that the major chunk of revenue comes form just a handful of tags.
Of course, the current absolute profitability means that there is no way it is done by a human. Too small pay for lots of work.

If you want to join my curation path I can hook you up to the bot. Yet you need to have at least 50-100 SP for that to work.

Thanks for the offer. But I'm quite certain that if someone joines, he will receive much lower curation rewards. As you and i both know that being the first upvoter is the only way for huge curation rewards.

I do wonder how far you can improve your strategy? And how profitable my strategy would be if it was done by a programmed bot?

About improving yours, I think you can do 1 very easy thing to do so. Stop the bot for about 3 days. 😀

You are correct that the order of votes matters, so being first is certainly a plus in terms of curation rewards. Yet you overestimate my "whaleness". I only have 132 SP (much of these are borrowed) and I do not vote at the full power. Hence the distortion should not be large. In my view you would certainly make more than you are making right now.

By now you should also know that curation trail improves your rewards. That said, if you join and bring some more people along you will improve rewards for me, you and anyone who joined before the others. Right now the trail is empty.

There are certainly some avenues of improvement that I will probably take in a future if I have enough interest and time to do it. Right now I'm ok with the bot being what it is. I do not know your strategy well to answer that question.

Thanks for the advice! The bot does not function this way and it would only hurt the rewards in the grand scheme of things.

Thank you also for this good conversation!

Can I have 1 last question?
In what programming language did you build this bot?

You are welcome.
It is a mix of languages with python being one of them.