Say Hello to Utopiaboy!

Hello Steemit! I've been meaning to start posting here for a while, at the encouragement of my friends @ashtraymonument and @riotdog: apparently, though, they're even lazier than I am, because my own account predates theirs by two and four months respectively. Honestly, that's kind of weird, but I would say @riotdog in particular operates somewhat erratically, plunging suddenly into projects he conceived only moments before, or otherwise completely ignoring the tasks involved for some project he conceived himself. In a manner more like the former, these and other friends created a Facebook page for me for some reason, having said at the time they did it because (in their words), I "just say the most awesome shit."

(So, I'm internet-famous with like 750 anarchists and communists on Leftbook. Obviously I'm an incredibly accomplished individual.)

Anyway, I guess today's the day I'm finally jumping into it. Nice to meet you all! I go by Priyank Bang. Though I believe strongly in security culture, Facebook doesn't even believe that's a real name, so I feel pretty safe disclosing it. I'm 24 years old, and I'm coming to you live right now from Kolkata, India.

Window Shot 1.jpg

(Photo from my window of scenic Kolkata. I understand the United States has a pair of subcultures that either love squatting or gentrifying. I believe Kolkata would satisfy them both. But please send the squatters from your shithole country to ours, because they sound way more fun.)

Regardless, I apologize for the delay in introducing myself! Of course life has reasons, and not excuses. That said, I've spent like a year preparing for and taking a series of exams to gain employment as a government bureaucrat. That involves a surprising number of questions like the following:

Which one of the following is correct? 1. He has taught us for four years. 2. He taught us for four years.

"What's the context, damn it?! Did he stop teaching?!"

Which of the following is correct? 1. Juhi has saved enough money, she will be buying a new car next week. 2. Juhi has saved enough money, she is going to buy a new car next week.

"Why are you dropping conjunctions when you're trying to test my fluency in Standard Written English?! Should official government documents use an active or passive voice?! Finally, where's the simplest and therefore correct answer, '...she will buy a new car next week'?!"

Anyway, that leads me to something I'd like to talk about, in case anyone reading this doesn't know much about India. First, I'd like to emphasize that we aren't all that different (assuming you're an Anglophone Westerner). I mean, sure, there are some obvious and major differences, but these differences remain similar in type to those between other regions and ethnicities. To pick a true "all-American" example, I understand from talking with my American friends that Northerners may not necessarily know what "grits" are, though grits are a staple of the Southern diet. (Disclaimer: I have no idea what grits are, and the name itself sounds unappetizing to me.)

But the weird thing is, the fact that we're not all that different reflects historic tragedy: the tragedy of colonialism. Today, the government of India publishes most official statements in English, along with local languages. As an example, talking with @riotdog, I realized that not only have I never read "Krishnamurti" written in Hindi, I have never read Hindi outside of school. Do you see what I mean, then, when I talk about the tragedy of our similarity? I haven't ever seen a particular name written in its native language. In effect, I have a colonized mind--perhaps most evident in my appreciation for British TV shows, hahaha.

Even worse, most parents of the economic middle-class (and a grim minority of the lower-class) send their children to English-medium schools. As a result, they read in English most of the time, and have little exposure to Hindi literature. In contrast, the vast majority of the population only receives education in Hindi or a local language and learn no English at all. Altogether, that produces a profound personal disconnect between the monied classes and the everyday lives of most Indians, along with a deplorable insensitivity to the majority's plight.

(In other words, the tragedy of colonialism continues, with a capitalist spin.)

Nonetheless, the past is the past, and let's study the past at the same time that we figure out the best way to go from here. I'll keep my face undisclosed, since I'm going after a government job, but once again, nice to meet you all, and I'm excited to finally get started on Steemit!
Anonymous Selfie.jpg

Take care! Looking forward to talking with you all again soon.

Sort:  

obviamente tienes mucho que decir y tienes una buena manera de pensar y ver las cosas, un pequeño consejo, canaliza toda esa fuerza, furia o frustración, en esas ideas y hacerlo para un bien mayor, reflejar rabia y rencor es fácil(no digo que lo hagas) solo que si canalizas todo ese potencial para inspirar a otros estoy seguro que lograras mucho mas de lo que crees..un abrazo!! te sigo

Hey, thanks for your reply! I had to use google translate since I don't know Spanish, but it worked out. I agree completely with what you say and hope I am someday able to be an inspiring figure for some. Thanks and following you back.

welcome dear

Thanks! Looking forward to being a part of the community and interacting with you all.

you are warm welcome here

Welcome to Steemit! With new Steemian’s, I always have 3 pieces of advice for success. Be kind, be consistent, and be persistent. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Thanks for the advice, captainbob. It is very helpful and I am intrigued by DTube and Dsound, I will check them out and of course, following you.

Hi, I welcome you to this wonderful steemit group.
I invite you to review my blog.-

Thank yaiven! I have followed you and look forward to reading your work.

Welcome! If you are a friend of @riotdog you are a friend of mine.

Congratulations @utopiaboy! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @utopiaboy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!