@vidyabanjan | Thank You | Introducing Myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Introducing Myself

@vidyabanjan.jpg

Hey lovely Steemians!

Before I introduce myself, let me take this opportunity to thank everyone of you, who has shown interest in checking out my first post, on this beautiful place known as “Steemit”.

You must have heard this phrase, “this world is hard for a woman”. Haven’t you? And how about I share with you, my story, which would make you understand the magnitude of it.

I am an Indian and have lived most of my life here. Although I love my country, but at the same time, there are a few things which I feel need some correction to make it a perfect place to live in.

That one shortcoming is the discrimination between a boy & a girl. The disparity between a man & a woman at different walks of life, still exists here. The female foeticide is still a menace that haunts us all, even after all the necessary steps the Indian government has taken, to curb it for good. Yet a few cases, keep slipping through the cracks, here and there. Although, it has come down drastically to a small number, but I would love to see it eradicated from the face of this planet.

On the personal front, fortunately I didn’t have to face this, as my father was unlike anyone who believed that a girl child is any lesser than a boy. My mother says that, like any typical Indian man, my father wanted to have a baby boy, but when came into his world, he understood the real meaning of fatherhood, although I wasn’t his first child. My father gave me extra of everything he could. Especially and always, more than what my two elder brothers got.

My father, of course, never thought of any ill off me and tried to do fulfill all my needs at the best of his ability. But as a child, even though I knew that my father loved me more than my brothers, it became all the more important for me to make my father proud. I always did more than what my parents could have ever asked, or expected for.

I was an extremely hardworking student and always secured the top rank in my school, because I wanted to see the pride in my father’s eyes, for me. The community we come from, not many fathers support their daughters, the way my father did. In fact in many instances, he was even targeted for being a liberal, forward minded and supportive father, who wanted his daughter to get equal opportunity, if not more than his sons. My father was, is and will always remain my superhero.

I remained the most obedient person be it as, a daughter, a sister or a student. This made me a person, who was taught never to refuse or say no to others. Many a times, when I knew that people were taking advantage of me, I could not say no to them and, knowingly became a victim.

I wanted to become a doctor, but my father wanted me to become an engineer and, so I did, because I thought this is my homage to my father for being such my support system, against all the odds. Against my primary preference, I took up engineering. After my graduation as an engineer, I had a number of offers from many MNCs, but they were all based in cities, away from my hometown and hence I had to let them go, as my father didn’t want me to go and stay in an “alien” city, all by myself. It wasn’t easy for me to let go of such lucrative offers, but I knew that my father, out of his sheer love for me, does not want me to go away from her, at least not before I get married.

After 6 months of struggle, I did manage to get a job with a good Indian MNC. My work at the office, impressed everyone in the team, but when it came to giving promotion, my colleague who was not even as good me, got the promotion, in the name of being more dynamic. After 3 years of back breaking hard-work, when I was finally about to get an opportunity to travel abroad, on an onsite assignment, my father told me to take up the opportunity. But at the same time, a very good marriage proposal came on my way and I could not say no for that. We got me married in a typical Indian way. Even though it wasn’t the fairy-tale Cinderella type wedding alliance, but the person I got married to made up to me. I can only say one thing, I was fortunate to get wedded to a gem of a person.

By god’s grace (touch-wood) the man got married to, turned out to be the carbon copy of my childhood superhero, my father. He supported me at every point in my life, ever since I got married to him. He enthralled a lease of confidence in me and helped me in becoming a much stronger and resilient person.

Today, after 13 years of my married life, with a beautiful 10 years old boy, I live my life to the fullest. And I urge every man and woman to work together, just the way I and my hubby do, to make this world a better place to live.

Thank a ton for your time!

Vidya

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Thank you @steemik for welcoming :)

Hello @vidyabanjan ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt!

Thank you so much

Welcome to Steem @vidyabanjan I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thank you :)

Welcome to Steemit @vidyabanjan, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 Welcome to Steemit! I am very happy that you join our community! I wish you all the best on this platform and in your life too! You can count on me for what you need, you just have to write to me and I'll be answering soon. I send you a big hug from Argentina! My name is Marcos @kryptoland 😄👍🏻🇦🇷

Thank you @kryptoland for the warm welcome. :)

welcome @vidyabanjan. welcome you to our community

Thank you @sophial for the welcome. Means a lot. :)

Nice post! I saw that you have been on here for some time but this was a good post. You get an upvote and I hope you will some day do the same!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of upvotes so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Thanks @kromosoom for welcoming me to this platform. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vinyprop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.