Happy human / Nomad / Documentary filmmaker - I'm new here!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!
My name is Diana and I'm super excited to start my journey here on Steemit.
Let me share some things about myself.
I'm most known for producing pretty extreme documentaries around the world.
You can often see me either hanging from helicopters or hanging out with aboriginals in the Australian outback.

P1000106 ii.jpg

I'm also a drone operator, a visual story teller and a true nomad.
I spent all my life travelling around the world for fun and for work.
I had the chance to work with major channels and productions companies around the world.
But what I'm mostly proud of is my diverse multicultural background.

DSC00183+copy.jpg

I was born in Moscow to a Spanish dad and a Korean-Russian mum.
I'm fluent in 5 languages and would like to consider myself a citizen of the world.
When I was seven, I moved to Barcelona, at seventeen I was living in Greece.
When I hit twenty, I decided to pursue scriptwriting and got myself into a uni in London and moved there on my own.
Starting my own life in London was a huge challenge, but somehow my altruistic outlook on the world got me into documentary and I found my niche.

I've seen a lot of crazy shit in 8 years of my professional career, so don't get me started...but the most beautiful lesson that I've learned was about the power of the community.
Because of the nature of my documentaries I met with different people struggling around the world and realised that we are all pretty similar in our wants and needs.
Deep down we all want peace and love and prosperity for our families and our kids. In many countries governments struggle to offer that for the ones who need it the most and there's so much injustice...it's sad. But what's beautiful is the power of people, common people that unite and help each other to build a different world for one another. I found this being the biggest source of inspiration in my life.

I heard many times from different people that I have a dream job.
Well, it's definitely been a cool ride...but it also is not as dreamy as it might seem.
After 8 years I've decided to leave it all behind and move to California to start my own thing with my friends and people I believe in.

What I struggled with doing my job in documentary world are the same things you witness in your everyday life - sexism, lack of objectivity, corporate world taking over people's minds and dreams which all ultimately leads to unhappiness, stress and demotivation.

While producing my docs, I struggled to tell an honest, objective story that I believed in, the way I wanted it to be told, because it was against political agenda of the channel or some old fat exec thought it's not gonna make the ratings...Then you work with directors that don't care about the people they exploit and are happily sacrificing someone's image for the sake of getting a pat on the back from the big bosses back at work.
I always thought that the collective, the people you surround yourself with - is one of the most important variables in life. So, uninspired to be amongst people that don't share my beliefs, I decided that I don't want to climb this shit ladder anymore and opted out.

DSC00158upd.jpg

Now I'm on a path of starting my own venture, totally freelance and with like-minded individuals that are happy to be changing things and creating more professional, honest and ultimately healing content. I want to give young, talented and smart creatives that I met on my travels a chance at expressing themselves. A huge discovery for me on the road was the fact that things already are changing globally and people are doing freaking amazing things around the world. Too sad that mainstream media decides to focus on other things. Well, hopefully, I could do something to change that.

At first, leaving everything behind and moving out of London without a plan seemed like throwing 8 years of hard work under the bus. First month I was seriously struggling as it's pretty crazy to be in a new place where you don't know anyone after you "had it all". You have to create opportunities for yourself and completely reinvent your life once again. But once 2 months passed since I've changed my location and my mindset, the new energies started coming in. The more independent and fresh my head was starting to get, the more daring things I started to discover. And that's how I got into decentralised cryptocurrencies and Steemit haha

The one thing that got me sold on Steemit right away is the community and the power of supporting and giving back without the need for domineering authority. It's beautiful and it's what I would like to bring more of into my life. Our biggest currency is our attention. Whatever we give most attention to grows rapidly and I would like to put mine into spreading goodness and love. I believe in a world with no borders and a platform like this is so inspiring to my heart.

I've spent years doubting myself and not fully committing to my dreams while being in "a dream job". I still didn't fully defined my ultimate goals but life is a journey and I rather mine to be as authentic and true to myself as possible. That would be my definition of success. No money can buy that.

I hope reading this would inspire you guys to be more open to your own experiments in living.
Dream big! Don’t settle for bullshit.
It’s so nice to be connected to you all.
Love,
Dx

If you feel like following my adventures on other channels >>>
Instagram > https://www.instagram.com/whatdianadid
YouTube > https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWIrNfwpiseetuX6B0aVjSg

Sort:  

Happy new year and welcome to steemit. This is by far one of the best introductions I have read in a while. Tells us a lot about yourself and thank you for including the videos. Keep up the good work.

Thanks so much ;)
Happy to be here!

Thank you for sharing this post, I greatly enjoyed reading this and learning some pretty incredible things about you. Congrats to you on all that you do. Super cool. I'm super new to STEEM and was looking for good introduction examples, and well this hardly easy to follow but I shall do my best.
What you say in regards to working in the media industry I applaud you for taking your life and happiness back into your own hands and knowing the significance of what you do and what you can do in the future. It sounds like, to me, that you are most certainly destined for great things.

I look forward to following your journey. Light the way, good things are happening.

Thank you for your support and such kind words!
That means a lot.
Welcome to Steem ;)

Welcome :) the drone video is so awesome indeed :)

Hi, given that you live as a nomad, yes, I'm too old to live like you. That's nice with you, I'm traveling with you ....

Never too old!

Welcome to Steemit @whatdianadid ! You are so brave for leaving a big career. But with that messed up industry, you are better on your own so you can tell the truth without being influenced by those selfish media executives.
You seem to have a good heart so I'm sure you will be successful more than ever. This intro inspired me to rethink of my goals and to make sure I'm not settling for just anything. Thank you and I wish you the best! :)

Thanks! That's very kind! ;)
Wish you all the best too!

This is one really good introduction post. :)

Welcome to the community dear, I'm glad you made it here, this is the ideal community for you...

If you need guidance with anything, feel free to contact me on my posts.

Wish you a lovely day lady, cheers :)

Welcome to Steem! I'll be following your nonad life and live vicariously through you the days I'm stuck at work. Its a great community. Very helpful. Check out @thesteemengine for a upstart awesome group of steemiams.

It's so true, it's the body then; ^ -)