In Search of Redemption through Whispers

Hi everyone my name is Leo and no, I am not new to Steemit.

IMG_20170506_192148.jpg

I signed up a month ago and felt great and all. Made a couple of posts and between burning out and not having the direction or zeal to find out what NICHE to blog from, I find myself mopping up into a statue of inactivity. That is not good. I know I can do more and I want to do more. This is the reason for this account.

When you go to @surpassinggoogle’s blog you go there with the aim of picking up tips or discovering discord groups to join so that you can have a primary community of steemians to work with.

@jerrybanfield’s blog contain step by step guide on how to get started on Steemit. What to do and what not to do.

Opening @curie, @sndbox or @buildawhale means you want some insight on curation and how to go about it should you be interested.

But what about my own blog? Even I have no idea what EXACTLY it is I am offering to Steemit readers.

For seasoned bloggers, the transition to Steemit might be easy but for most steemians whose writing experience is nothing more than Facebook posts, figuring out what room to enter remains a tough crack. I don’t know of others but in my experience, I kept knocking at different doors, trying out my hand and eventually ended up not knowing where neither my strength nor weakness laid.

Prior to signing up on Steemit, I had spent the better part of a year and half writing soccer articles for content mills and the anonymous blogs all as a freelancer meaning I don’t get credit for them instead I get paid a little above $0.5 for each article .

In August this year, in a bid to get published, I tried my hand on a popular Nigerian blog – opinions.ng – sent them two articles and to my surprise both were published. You can read them here: article1 article2

And instead of continuing on that wavelength upon joining this platform, I chose to seek for new niches with very little luck because of fear. Fear of being in a dry niche. In a niche people hardly visit and a niche that most often than not leave me with nothing more than a $0.01 courtsey of my own upvote.

But if that is the kind of attitude @ejemai embraced when he joined this platform, 90% of Nigerians currently on Steemit may not have been aware of its existence. Nigeria currently have two Steem Accelerator hubs – in the southern cities of Uyo and Portharcourt – and he is the brain behind both.

Should I be successful with this account I think it will be one of the most profound improvement I have ever made in my life – building something from scratch. As a born pessimist, you have no idea what an evolutionary shift it will be for me.

So help me welcome @whisperingtree to Steemit and I hope to make it worth every while.

Sort:  

Hey Leo! Welcome to Steemit! I hope my comment will give you some motivation. There is no reason to be pessimistic about Steemit. You will learn a lot and make some coins on the side!

It is my hope. Thanks for your kind words.

You got a 0.32% upvote from @upme requested by: @whisperingtree.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness