Hola! From Kansas to Afghanistan

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Made from a Dominican mother and an American dad; My name is Wilkin Santana, I am currently serving my second tour in Afghanistan with the U.S Military. I believe that active duty is the best way for me to do my share of good in this world. We are currently helping the Afghan people rebuild their country.
PicsArt_05-31-08.59.12.jpg
There are bad people over here, but I have also met some kind, honest ones. But believe all the bad propaganda from either side. There are bad and good people everywhere.
I am going to be honest; I found a second love in crypto technology. And when I hear about Steemit, I jumped right in. I am not going to lie, back in the days, when I first heard of Bitcoin, I was super skeptical. I wish I didn’t, I would probably be a millionaire now. But unfortunately, I did. However, it’s never too late. And now I fully believe in a decentralized kind of technology, and seriously believe it’s the future of the internet. But more about that later.
Back to myself…. After all, this is an introduction right?
PicsArt_12-24-07.06.45.jpg
When I am not on missions, I spend my time, mostly at the gym, there is not much to do out here. But back home I enjoy running, mountain biking, flying drones and taking aerial pictures, shooting guns and pretty much doing anything outdoors.
First time I deployed was 2012/13. Things were a little different back then, and way more actions. Now we are doing our best to help the Afghans take care of their own country.

A couple of more months and I will be back in the states.
Things have been, well, so, so. Winters were unforgivable. The mountains get super full of snow, and driving around is almost impossible. Yet, the Afghan manages to continue with their life as normal.
20170210_210004.jpg
Right now, it’s super hot again. That’s the thing about this land when it’s cold, it’s extreme cold, but also the same applies to the warm times. It gets to 110 degrees in a matter of minutes.
I will be posting mostly about Blockchain, Military, Exercises, and my Dog Zoey.
Also, I speak Spanish, so you may see some entries in Español as well!

Hope you enjoyed my post. Bye for now :-)
15056392_10154853117844729_6651207567584022247_n.jpg

UPDATE 06/03/2017: BTW, the dog on the picture is not Zoey, Zoey is back in Kansas safe and sound waiting for her master to come back. The dog in the picture is my trusty battle buddy Sergeant Pritzy.

Sort:  

Welcome to SteemIt! And thank you for your service!

This is a great introductory post and I enjoyed reading it. You earned another follower! Looking forward to your future posts!

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Thank you for taking the time to read. I am not great at writing, but I do write out of my mind. Peace!

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you have fun!

Thank you!

You are a badass, man. I honor you for your service -- thank you.

And welcome to Steemit!

Have my $.05, upvoted
@shayne

Thank you so much brother

Mucho gusto Wilkin. Welcome to steemit.com
Thank you for your service and sacrifice.

That m16 looks like a toy in your hands.
Good luck and come home safely.

Un oplacer. Sigueme que por ahi continuo posteando. Y se ve chica porque es una M4

Welcome Wilkin!

Thanks Wilx

Welcome aboard, Wilkin! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Thanks, and done!

hey i have a question: were you able to join steemit from Afghanistan? Is that where you are right now?

Stella, im on amilitary installation, everything in here is treated as an APO AE, basically another state, Including mail, and internet. When I connect my Ip will say soemthing U.S.A, APO. and show me as if im in the states. But I am not 100% if Steemit is open to countries like AF of if they block suchs IPs. I do can tell you this, they do have Internet over here. Ther have some providers like Roshan, Etizalat, and a few others. So the Afghans does get Internet. You will be surprised; sometimes I am out on missions and the kids always run to the comboy to get candies and such, well, some times you see a few of those kids pulling out an iPhone or some other high end smartphone. Remeber that Afghanistan have a border with China, so its not that dificult for em to get cheap electronics.
If you have any question, feel free to ask. I haver been arround for some time and made some good friends out here. So, I'm kind of connected to the Afghans nowStella, I'm on a military installation, everything in here is treated as an APO AE, basically another state, Including mail, and cyberspace. When I connect my IP will say something like U.S.A, APO. And show me as if I'm in the states. But I am not 100% if Steemit is open to countries like AF or if they block such IPs. I do can tell you this, they do have Internet over here. There have some providers like Roshan, Etizalat, and a few others. So, the Afghans do get Internet. You will be surprised; sometimes I am out on missions, the kids always run to the comboy to get candies and such, well, sometimes you see a few of those kids pulling out an iPhone or some other high end smartphone. Remember that Afghanistan has a border with China, so it's not that difficult for me to get cheap electronics. If you have any question, feel free to ask. I have been around for some time and made some good friends out here. So, I'm kind of connected to the Afghans now.

Welcome, Wilkin! Those are some cool photos you posted with an interesting intro :)

Thank you very much. Stay tune for more :-)

HOOOAH, Soldier! Glad to have you on board @willsann
I'm new to Steemit too and I REALLY relate to the whole being skeptical about bitcoin biz...
I'm glad to see a serviceman on this site and I appreciate you for your service sir!

Oorah to you brother

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit. Following and looking forward for your posts. Be safe.

Thank you very much. Hopefuly i will find the time to keep posting.

Welcome to steemit. keep sharing, keep exploring!

Thanks JZ :)

Congratulations @willsann! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome, Wilkin!

Congratulations @willsann! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to the party dude. You and your brothers/sisters stay safe over there and thank you.

Thank you so much for the support!

Welcome to the Land of Steem hope Zoey gets a steak now and again:-)

Ha, Ha, Ha, she sure does!

BTW, the dog on the picture is not Zoey, Zoey is back in Kansas safe and sound waiting for her master to come back. The dog in the picture is my trusty battle buddy Sergeant Pritzy.

Welcome to Steemit Wilkin! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. :-)