Hello Everyone~ My name is Sabra! Verified~

in #introduceyouself8 years ago (edited)


Hello Everyone! My name is Sabra! I am 24 years old and live out in Texas. I have joined this site to further explore my hobbies. In the past, I have ran a Gamestop as an Assistant Store Manager with huge enthusiasm. I love making people smile and having fun living what I used to dream up of as a kid. Gamestop, to me personally, was an escape in which I could still have fun while not being looked at for dressing up as an adult.

While I worked there, I loved to create easy “closet cosplays”. These generally made people smile. One of my fondest memories was when Mario Kart 8 rolled out. I had a lady who became super frustrated that we left her game case empty when she made a game purchase from my store. She came back in a very upset mood and asked me for the manager. I was decked out in red with suspenders, a red Mario hat, and a ridiculous mustache as I told her I was management. Her upset demeanor instantly became full of laughter and I listened to her complaint. I ended up searching for her game disc, apologizing, and sending her off with a free game disc guarantee in case she needed her game replaced from a scratch or from a break later in the year. She was grinning from ear to ear as she left after all the Mario game puns we made together. I saw her on a regular basis after that. We’d often joke about the next crazy idea I had for upcoming releases.

Another one of my favorites was Batman Arkham Knight. Originally I wanted to wear a Harley Quinn outfit, but last minute thought it was not professional of me to wear something so revealing so last minute I had to change my outfit. My boss didn’t mind. Since I looked like someone out of the game “Gotham City Imposters” rather than Harley Quinn, he dressed as a “Gotham City Imposter” Batman, with an ipad utility belt and all. I had a Jack Nicholson inspired face full of makeup and overall we had fun. I was just so happy that someone I highly looked up to wanted to be completely silly with me, rather than serious on a fun midnight release.

Pre-job Sabra always had nicely done cosplays however. I used to put a lot of thought into my cosplays and sew them. Since working at Gamestop full time, I just didn’t have the time. Regretfully I no longer work at Gamestop. I miss planning my next antics in which I’d anticipate making several people smile. I want to go back to making quality cosplays with some tutorials. In the past, I was best known for my Aeris/Aerith from Final Fantasy VII. I am planning on remaking that shortly as well as the staff along with it. I plan on making Samus’ arm cannon, Star Trek TOS dress, other fun props.


Sort:  

"Its sad that Steemit has become a forum for pretty girls showing off their bodies and making great money meanwhile so many well thought out and articulated posts earn little to nothing. If Steemit is to survive and flourish this trend simply must end."

I think we've beat this topic dead... People upvote because they like it
, not because its going to win a nobel prize! Good work Sabra!

I want to see Sabra looks like Lara Croft ;)

I will sometime! It is on my list! ^_^

welcome, you'are very cool

I try to be. I always try to be that one over the top enthusiastic person

live and enjoy life. keep it up.

Thank you! I will definitely keep doing so.

the Mario mustache made me laugh.

It took a LOT of convincing just to get me ONE coworker to semi dress as Luigi with me! ^_^ He refused his mustache too! But yeah, to this day, still one of the happier days I had at my old job.

Welcome:)

Thanks! I hope it to be a fun ride!

Its sad that Steemit has become a forum for pretty girls showing off their bodies and making great money meanwhile so many well thought out and articulated posts earn little to nothing. If Steemit is to survive and flourish this trend simply must end.

So because I want to start a cosplay DIY, my content isn't worthy? I don't choose what gets upvoted or not. I think people should be happy for one another. Sure it didn't take me long to write this, but I thought in #introduceyourself, it was just about simply saying "Hi" with a small story about oneself. Plus you seem to think it's "showing off a girl's body". Did you even see the cosplays I posted? They are not for showing off in a sexual manner. I simply did it for a job I greatly loved to make my customer base happy and to have fun!

Cosplay can show off anyone. A guy could cosplay and decide to make a DIY blog. I wanted to start a simple DIY blog for a lot of ideas that I have already been planning to do for myself. I follow a lot of DIY cosplay blogs myself. I am sorry if you were offended. I just simply wanted to state who I am and what I intend to do for future stuff. I am sorry you didn't click on my article and I didn't have my first DIY prepared. I simply wanted to say hi.

My intent is to make people smile. There is a reason I am not posting on instagram, snapchat, or whatever. I feel like those places are for finished products. They show an altered, plastic, perfect, and cold photoshopped reality. I just want to show how fun it can be to hang on to that kid sense of wanting to be in your favorite fandoms. I am lucky enough to be able to experience that. That is what cosplay is to me.

upvoted after seeing verification. welcome aboard

Welcome !