Introducing Myself

in #introduceyuourself6 years ago (edited)

Hai there Steemit People. This “introduce yourself” thingy is my very very very first blog ever. I never imagined myself writing and making blogs when i was a kid. Lol. But since I recently learned to love reading books and reading some articles, I’m giving myself a shot to express ideas lingering in my head all this time. So here I am, tryin’ hard to write this very first blog of mine. And now, let me introduce myself to you in 3, 2, 1, go.

collage-2018-01-15.png
A Throwback stolen picture in my college days

I’m Jay Ar Bensi Somoza, 25, a Civil Engineer and Registered Master Plumber. I was born in Davao, grown up in Cebu, and now? I’m currently working in Bohol. Pretty adventurous right? Haha.

collage-2018-01-14.png
Headache Pose

1.png

Since I graduated just this recently, (insert laughing smiley face), April 2, 2014, and passed the Civil Engineering Board Exam in May 2014, I’m eager to find a job. And luckily, I’ve got hired few days after some job hunting, and assigned in Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu.

10479049_4533321747195_2497494666847804272_n.jpg
So i'm almost as tall as those buildings (my previous job)

But after a few months, I quit and find another adventure. And now, as I mentioned earlier, I am currently working in Bohol. My first area of assignment is in Carmen, and then transferred to Trinidad, and then San Miguel, still adventurous life I say. My Job includes estimating, preparing program of works, technical plans, act as a member of Technical Working Group (TWG) in procurement process, supervising, and also part of our job is engaging to communities, etc. I’ve been working here since 2014. So that’s more than 3 years now. Imagined that 3 years, every week, I travel just to go home, in Cebu. Yes, you read it right, (‘coz I write it right, haha). Every single week, I travel the deep blue sea, just to go home. My reason? Of course, we all do have reasons for the things we do, right? But for me, it’s because of homesickness, lol, haha. Then eventually, it became my hobby, to come home every weekend. Except for those weeks that we’re pressured to hit some targets, or those weeks that some typhoon visited us and give us a maximum sustained winds of 80 kilometers per hour (kph) and gustiness of up to 110 kph or so, that is hitting central visayas. Of course, can’t get home when coast guard don’t give authority for sea vessels to travel. That’s the only exception for me not getting home in weekends.

20180105_142957.jpg
My favorite sea vessel. A motor banka. I like this more compared to fast crafts, it's more affordable and more convenient for me

So basically, I travelled a lot because of this weekly hobby thingy. And the best part of it, I usually get a student discount whenever I ride on a bus. I don’t know how, I don’t know why. It hurts sometimes, but usually not. Haha, lol. The bus conductors, why are they giving me tickets that has a student’s discount? Without asking me (teary eyes). Gosh. Haha. Should I return it? Is it returnable? Replaceable? I am shocked, every time I received that kind of ticket. Yeah, it hurts, at first, until it hurts no more. Hahaha.

20180112_212827.jpg
Should I be happy or sad? hahaha. (Discounted Tickets)

In my current job, our usual project is just small scale infrastructure, vertical and horizontal, like school buildings, health centers, barangay roads, etc. So we have this project in an elementary school. When i'm about to enter the gate, the newly assigned security guard won't let me enter and said, this is an elementary school, high school student are not allowed to enter. OMG. hahahaha. What's he thinking? Any Idea? haha.

2.png

I took up my bachelor's degree in Cebu Technological University together with my college classmate, mentor/coach, and the one who invited me to join Steemit, a brilliant person, @fojrance. We graduated last April 2014. Being in college for 5 years, I must say, it's not that easy, there are always challenges, about in school and financial. There are times that I almost give up in my studies because of financial problems, but then I see my parents doing all they can to support me, so in return, I always try my best so that I can avail the academic scholarship each semester, and in that way, they will have less burden for my studies. I really want to thank my family for doing their best to help me graduate and fulfill my dream to become an engineer, they are my inspiration.

3.png

20479896_462786820772126_5439737112435911045_n.jpg
my partners

Aside from the “weekly hobby” thingy I mentioned earlier, we’re also gonna talk about my other hobbies and interest. Well, as you can see, one of my hobbies (not talent, haha) is playing guitar. Whenever I got home in weekends after a very long long trip, one of my favorite things to do is to play guitar, and then sing to my heart’s content. Lol, just kidding, I don’t really sing. I’m scared of singing out loud, coz I’ve read some headlines, people being hit because of singing with such unpleasant voice, hahaha.

qq.png
Translation: out-of-tune sings, killed / two out-of-tune singer, shot
How scary people now a days. I’ve gotta be very careful when singing. haha

I also watch love to watch movies, specially comedies, action, sci-fi, and a little bit of horror movies. Do you have any suggestion of movies to watch? please tell me.

1975019_509580725829917_1621346515_n.jpg
5'9" in height, hahaha, joke

Thank you for your time. I'm looking forward to know more people in steemit. Happy new year, although it's a little bit late to greet. I'm very excited to share some of my ideas and knowledge to my fellow steemians. Gotta work on it very soon, so please support me guys. God Bless!!!

Sort:  

Bai, hahaha welcome to steemit. lingaw kaayu ko bai, taasa gyud nimu bai nu. hahaha.

Kaayu bai, salamat.. hahaha..

Congratulations! You are one of our Weekly featured Authors.
Welcome to Steemit Philippines. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.


Thank you @steemph. I really appreciate it..

Great post @jayg17. :) keep on steeming! Hard work always pays off.

Thank you @honeyletsgo. I will do my best.

Woww finally! Hello there @jayg17! Welcome to Steemgineers! hahahahaha

Hai miss @smaeunabs.. thank you.. aftr a week, nka.post na jud.. hehe..

yay! welcome! enjoy and explore ;)

You were born in Davao, grew up in Cebu - I'm exactly opposite - I was born in Cebu, now I'm living a life of a Davaoeño. Hahaha.

I haven't known much about you back in College. All I know is that you are exceptionally talented in mathematics and engineering. This introduction is truly amazing. Wish you I'd know you even more in the coming days. :)

Send my regards to the people in davao master @caratzky, it's been 2 yrs since my last visit.

Thanks for appreciating, i also want to know you more, i know you're a good friend of reynard.

You and @fojrance are my lodi in quiz bowl during college days. Hehe..

Welcome aboard @jayg17! Another lodi!

Thank you miss @nikkabomb

You're welcome :) Enjoy, explore and engage! :)

Sure.. i will do my best.. ☺

Hope to see more of your lodiness HAHAHAHA! What a word! Anyway, I'm pretty....(IKR hahaha, kidding aside)...I'm pretty sure you'll like it here @jayg17. I'm so excited for your next posts! :) Best of luck my friend.

Hahaha. I still need to learn a lot to awaken my lodiness inside. Hahaha. Thank you miss @nikkabomb, i'm also looking forward to read all of your amazing and interesting posts.

Hahahaha. Nakakaloka ang miss. I'm not used to be called miss. HAHAHA

Yey! Support sa akong blogs ha hahaha.

Welcome po :)