Introducing Myself

in #introducingmyself3 years ago (edited)

To be honest, I wasn't sure if I was going to write an introductory post, but here I am.

The current events of the world and life in general have made me realize that most things these days are liquid. Time is liquid, days move to weeks and months and so on and so forth. People are liquid too. Their lives change constantly and their personal preferences change. Circumstances change people and I think the lockdown this last year has shown people just how radical change can be when you don't actually have much choice in the matter. I did a lot of introspection this last year, mostly out of necessity - my life over the last 15 years had become a massive hamster wheel of running around trying to make other people around me happy and walking on eggshells to stay in good books. I never seemed to get it right though.

This year my husband, kid and I moved out of the city and left all of that behind us. We wanted to try and find some time and space to live a little bit for ourselves. So we now live in a small town, in the middle of semi-arid countryside where we can try and carve out a new life for ourselves.

I have been interested in photography since I was in college, got some nice gear and then never had the security to actually use it. You venture outside with a digital camera in the city where we lived and you were asking to be mugged - so it kinda just sat there - what a waste. Now I can use my camera and I have been using it every single day since we moved without fear of it being stolen every time I step outside.

My passion after I went overseas for a year (this was a long while back) was the environment and being young and naïve I got into a career of conservation but after almost a decade of non stop battles and never seeming to make much progress for the greater good, my passion kinda got stamped out and I became disenchanted with the authorities that are vested with the protection of our natural resources. I left that career behind me with a sour taste in my mouth. Still love the natural world though, that will never die. It still shows in my photography and writing about interesting creatures and ecosystems. I still get wanderlust to see wildlife and walk through natural vegetation, I just don't get paid to do it, now I can just enjoy it.

Since then I've been struggling to find my place in the world again. I'm now a mom and wife and hell-bent on working for myself instead of supporting corporate greed in big companies and conglomerates. I'm a bit of a conspiracy nut, mostly because through experience I've learned that the majority of the time, people with power will do the most despicable things if it will grant them more power and money. I'd love to see bribery and corruption eradicated from the world, along with many other evils.

One of the things that I really like about the idea of crypto is how it is decentralized. I'm very very new to crypto but enjoying the journey so far of "stackin' em sats" as my hubby would say. So I'm aiming for the 1BCH club one day - but very far off in the future. Just building that cocoon from which to emerge from.

In the meantime I'm focusing on finding myself again, spending time with my family and building our business. For all I am pessimistic at the best of times, I'm choosing to stay optimistic about the future of small businesses and we will be supporting more small businesses over the big conglomerates.
I'm keen to see a world emerge from this crisis that is far more conscious about impact (individual and as a collective) - because each person in isolation may not have a big voice, but in unison, many voices can change the course of our world.

If you're keen to see some interesting creatures (large and small) as well as beautiful flowers and landscapes of the Little Karoo, follow my posts :)

Cheers until I next update this.

Black back.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! Welcome to Hive! To be recognized by the welcoming party here, you need to add the #introduceyourself tag. Just edit this post and add that tag.

I'll recommend this post for an OCD upvote. For newbies, usually, engagement is the best strategy to get noticed. I see that you're doing it since you commented on my post. Keep it up! I hope to see more of your photos soon!

Hi Kim. Thank you so much, to be honest I'm still a bit lost with how Give works and I'm still finding my footing in this community, but I am LOVING every second of it. The people are wonderful and the photography like your macro and travel pics are so inspiring, I feel like I need to step up my game lol. Thanks for the help, I will edit it now. Have a lovely day 😊

In case you encounter difficulties, don't hesitate to call my attention. I'll help in any way I can.

Congratulations @andrastia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Welcome to Hive.
Communities that will interest you :
Abondance tribe : https://hive.blog/trending/hive-181465
Natural medcine : https://hive.blog/trending/hive-120078
Ecotrain : https://hive.blog/trending/hive-123046
Clean Planet : https://hive.blog/trending/hive-150210
...and many others.

Hello Chrisaiki
Thank you very much for the warm welcome. I will most definitely check these communities out and see how I can contribute to environmental awareness :)

Have a beautiful day

Eventhough you werent aure it’s great you did the intro because Ofcourse we want to know about the little Karoo. It’s difficult to start but once you are here you’ll see it is very nice !
Welcome to Hive @andrastia

I saw your #introduceyourself blog and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn hive crypto, but we need a higher price, and its not the most important. I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours, and fraude is everywhere so also here you can run into that so be warned.

To post to Hive i use Peakd and Ecency, both great helps.

I wish you good luck blogging and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@jamerussell and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs almost every day , and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All answers to your questions, join in, I am on Hive everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b
Theterminal discord invite

Good luck to you as the new arrival, may hive become your new life !

Hi Britt, thank you so much for the warm welcome, I am enjoying it very much and hope to contribute useful posts and info. I'll definitely check out your page, thank you. Looking forward to being a bigger part of Hive. Have a great day 🌸

Its so much fun and so diverse, but its difficult in the beginning , so just ask when there are questions plenty of people that have been addicts here for a long time.

Welcome to the Hive community @andrastia!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and Peaklock,
  3. The owner password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do Not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hivians available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thank you so much James, much appreciated. Great to meet so many lovely people on Hive.

I am a bit late but let me still welcome you here :) We seem to share a lot of hobbies and opinions so I am looking forward to checking out your posts :)

Hi Phorton. Thank you so much for the warm welcome. I'll be sure to check out your posts too. I'm a bit of a weird one, my opinions tend to go against the grain often so it's nice to know there are some kindred peeps out there. Cheers, have a good one 🌸

Welcome to hive...Yes, I know I'm a bit late here but I wanted to drop by considering you just got involved with my #weekend-engagement topic week 42. Thanks for that by the way.

All the best for your journey. Build relationships, that's what will make it more enjoyable.

Thanks for stopping by and reading, I had such a giggle reading the reveals on weekendengagement. It made my weekend, thanks :) I'm enjoying Hive immensely, cannot understand how I didn't find it sooner. Have a great one :)

Yeah, there's sometimes some funny comments on my #weekend-engagement topics...A lot to usually. You're welcome anytime. Have a great weekend.

Sorry I am late to the party, welcome to HIVE I hope that you will enjoy your stay, people here are really like minded, I am sure you have already noticed.

Take care!😊