#1 Athena's Introduction

in #introduction7 years ago

Hi! I am Athena! I come from the beautiful country - the Philippines! I just joined Steemit yesterday and I am all too happy to have been accepted this morning. So, yeah! Here I go.

IMG_20161230_005554.JPG

First, I love hanging out online because that’s what I basically do for a living. In the online world I am Athena Goodlight. That’s my pen name, which is the Greek translation of my birth name. Goodlight is the English translation of my maiden name. I am a content provider for websites. In my own private world, I am a musician. My first love is music. Before I got immersed in the online freelancing scene, I am a musician and a music teacher. My love for playing the piano and teaching is what occupies a great chunk of my interest. But, just like what most individuals believe, we gotta work in a career that can actually pay. In my country, a career in music does not pay much, unless you work in a cruise ship or unless you become insanely famous. In the meantime, I am working on a collection of my own musical arrangements, which I hope to release next year or whenever I finish it. One thing’s for sure, music will always be a part of me, and writing something about it will keep flaming that ember of passion, which I intend to keep burning.

If you have been watching the news lately, my country has been in a hot seat for so many issues, mostly political. Perhaps that would interest many, and perhaps no one would even care. Each one from one’s homeland has issues and daily challenges to face. From time to time, I may be writing snippets my daily musings about some issues I find interesting.

I love cats. If I have a spirit animal, it might be a cat and I would take no other creature. Although I adore them so much, they just don’t seem to care. Cats are like that, I have to accept. This elusive unaffectionate character makes them more adorable that way.
higgy and rusty.jpg

I love travel and food. I will be sharing wonderful experiences along with tips on destinations and budget activities to do and wonderful food eat. Hopefully, I can be a digital nomad. The world is a wonderful place. I believe we all should take time to enjoy experiencing life in a certain place in an immersive way. As we all tell our stories, each one of us encourage others to live life to the fullest.
beach feet.jpg

Another one of my interests is gunpla, a hobby involving gundam model kits. I build and paint model kits when I have the time. Influenced by the boyfriend and my 2 children who are extensively into the hobby, I also tried it, and eventually found myself enjoying it. I like working with a variety of paints and textures, expressing a facet of my creativity into three-dimensional plastic objects.
Zock Plague Doctor 2015.jpg

Worth featuring about the place I come from is the natural beauty of the country, which includes the beauty of my fellow Filipinos. Well, we had several beauty queens gracing the international pageant stages, that’s just one of those. Perhaps most of you have encountered or have known a Filipino at some point in your life. We are a diasporic race. We are everywhere. I’m not sure if this endears or annoys people, but what the heck. It’s just who we are. You can easily get along well with a Filipino. Our hospitality is our one of our major assets as a people.
IMG_20170419_161714.jpg

It has been quite some time since I blogged and socialized online in this way. Most of what I do is work-related. I am so excited to be blogging for myself again and in the process get to meet people from various parts of the world. Let’s do this. See you around!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @athenagdlyt!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Thank you! I think I will really enjoy it here. :)

No problem, and you will definitely enjoy it around here 🙂

Hi @athenagdlyt! :) Glad to have you here! Enjoy your journey! I have followed you for more @lavitaebella all the best!

Thank you! This is going to be a wonderful journey @lavitaebella. see you around! :)

Welcome. I haven't written my IntroduceYourself post yet :) Yours has inspired me.

We inspire each other in this great platform! :) Thanks!

Welcome to steemit, nice to meet you!:)

Thanks! Nice to meet you as well! :)

Welcome to the community! I'm also new from Singapore😊 Nice to see someone here from Philippines, loves your country 👍🏻

Thank you! It's great meeting new friends. I've been to Singapore and I really enjoyed my short stay there. :) Wonderful country you have as well!

Nice to see from how many countries the members on steemit are coming from. Good luck for you and your cute cats.

Thanks! Cats are awesome, indeed. See you around!

I am interested to know what gunpla is!.
Looking forward to read more from you <3, already following ;)

Thanks! Gunpla is an interesting hobby, although it is not as popular in North America as it is in Asia. There are groups in your region who are also participating in this hobby to a competition level. :) Cheers!

Congratulations @athenagdlyt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Athena!