First Hive Post! My Hive Introduction

in #introduction2 years ago (edited)

20201025_103907.jpg

I am not sure if introductions are a thing here, so I will make this short! My name is Karen and I am mostly a homesteader living in Ontario, Canada.

20210716_152113.jpg

I grew up in the city and worked as a server most of my life. We were lucky enough to find and rent a country home in 2015 on some acreage. Over the last 6 years I have learned to start seedlings, plant seeds, forage, make medicine, plant gardens, harvest, preserve, and store food. I have dabbled in animal husbandry with chickens, ducks and bees and I am itching to get into livestock like a donkey or alpacas, and eventually cattle.
In 2019 volunteered at a farm who has a stand and I planted out a 2 acre market garden. In 2020 I managed at 3 hydroponic greenhouses for the summer, provided all the seedlings that went into them and learned how to run them. In the fall of 2020 I planted an acre of garlic at the farm next door to me, and this year will be replanting the best of the best for next year's crop.
Right at the beginning of the covid hype in the Spring of 2020, our property was sold to developers. We have until the middle of 2023 to leave here. I was (am?) devastated, I would say that the last year has been a mix of uncertainty, fear and almost like being in a fog but I am ready to fight for the next chapter now.
I am going to document my journey over the next 2 years to turn my passions into a permanent business and way of life. I am also hoping to be able to afford my own land soon, the housing market has exploded here in Ontario and prices are suddenly waaaaay out of reach. Since I can never mentally go back to living in the city......I'm gonna have to make this work!
I hope to connect with a like minded community here, and am looking forward to learning and sharing all I can.

20200902_093128.jpg

If you have read this far, thank you and hello.

Sort:  

Hi, welcome to Hive! I do hope you'll enjoy it here. I'm excitedly looking forward to following your journey. 😁

An introduction is the perfect way to start. It lets us get to know you a bit and what to expect from you. It also gives us a bit of confidence in you, to know that what you are bringing to us is from your own experiences and not just copied from somewhere on the internet. We like personal experiences so much more than long winded information posts we can get from a web search, anyway. 😉

There is a great community here from across the world with similar interests. The Hive Garden community can be found in the communities section and that's where most gardening content is encouraged now. There is also a Foodies Beehive community for any cooking related posts (it is part of the homesteading lifestyle after all 😁) and @TheHerbalHive also has a community, if you are interested in herbs for cooking, nutrition and healing.

I've given you a shout out in my round up of gardening and homesteading posts this week. I alternate the Garden Journal Weekly with @riverflows, who also runs the above mentioned @TheHerbalHive and I'm sure will be as excited as me to see a new homesteader here.

@minismallholding thank you so much for the message! I have followed everyone you mentioned (so helpful and thank you for all the tips) I look forward to reading blogs and learning from the community!

Welcome to Hive from Alberta Canada hope all works out for you

Thank you very much, hello from Ontario!

Welcome! And I will look forward to reading your stories.

Hi there and thank you! I look forward to reading yours as well

Welcome blackstarboho!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @blackstarboho! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!