Hi Steemit! - I stopped Providing Free Content for Facebook!

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Thank You For Creating This New Site! And Thank You For Letting Me be A Part Of It!


    Hi, it’s nice to meet you! My name is Chad and I live in Asheville North Carolina.  


  I’m tired of making Mark Zuckerberg rich by providing free art and photography for ‘his’ social media kingdom. Social media only has value because of people like us contributing content. And I don’t know of anyone who has made a dime blogging on FB! I had a decent photography page on Facebook but I decided to take it down (and my personal page too). In my reasoning I could no longer justify the use of my art to support some billionaire. I just do not want to keep fueling something that is taking my hard work for free.  


  In my opinion Steemit represents a serious competitor to paradigm of how our world is perceived and maintained. By demonstrating a horizontal platform of valuing social input, as well as the cryptocurrency factor that represents wealth independent from a central or national bank. This is a model for the future! Speaking of the future; what can we expect next? There are so many dinosaurs that are ripe to be challenged… How about a video platform similar to YouTube? Or a sales / auction platform? Or backing a better cryptocurrency debit card?      


Where am I?

  So a little bit about me: After spending many years hitchhiking the country and working as a member of the Rainbow Family, I ended up in Asheville North Carolina. I’ve watched the town go from a downtown full of abandoned buildings, to an area with skyrocketing real estate cost, and is facing gentrification at a massive rate. This is kind of what our town sounds like… here is a link for our local free radio station Asheville FM 103.3 – Steaming all different types of genres – No Ads- Nonprofit: http://www.ashevillefm.org/novo-radio   


This is a picture I took of our region. Asheville is nestled high in the Blue Ridge Mountains.


What Can I Do For You?

  Today I made some shirts and hats for our community. You can buy them on the following eBay links or just go to eBay and type “Steemit”. I ship my items out twice per week, these shirts are ready to go! This is part of what I do. If you are looking for t-shirts, hats, hoodies, ect. Holler at me! Even if it is a small run, I work in digital printing. And I would be happy to help you make some clothes, or even start you own fashion label!

Links:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STEEMIT-TSHIRT-Steem-Dollars-Crypto-Currency-Bit-Coin-Cryptocurrency-Steemit-com-/322201796147?var=&hash=item4b04b93e33:m:mOS_b6qJtDvlYJPI4NIxvVQ

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STEEMIT-Snap-Back-Hat-Crypto-Currency-Steem-Dollars-Steemit-com-Bit-Coin-/322201797479?hash=item4b04b94367:g:pXoAAOSwtnpXkuTy


What Do I want To Share With You?

My photography and my art!   I photograph allot of live music and other types of events. In the future you can expect me to be sharing pictures of events and artists, and whatever catches my eye. But for today, I'm want to share some of my more artistic photography with you... I hope you enjoy it!

Me, Hard at work.




Sort:  

Steemit Cat Approves this Message

Nice first post! Welcome to whatever the bleep this is.

I was wondering how people got to where steemit gear, I am definitely going to be on ebay looking for some gear to sport. Thanks for the heads up!

Wow wicked pics man.

Are you a DJ? Im a DJ, use to spend Hardcore\Gabber but now just EDM.

I used to spin hip hop and make good money at... Now I just bring my 1200's out once in a while...
What area are you at?

Los Angeles but actually south bay marina del rey

That's some really trippy stuff! Love your work - especially the slow shutter streaks in that picture of yours.

And good to see more Steemit mechandise coming.

Welcome to Steemit! Look forward to seeing more from you.

Nice work!

Welcome along. Really like your photographs.

where can i buy that hat?

There is a link above for the ebay listing. Or just go to ebay and type in Steemit hat.

Do you have a website where you sell those photos. They are really impressive. I'm curious if you use Photoshop or another editor to create the effects. I'd be interested in seeing the original and the final result if possible. Welcome to steemit! It is way more rewarding than Facebook although facebook does have a purpose, but mostly just catching up with friends before returning here.

Yeah, thats pretty much my Photoshop work. Except for the picture of the DJ. Thats a manual lens effect.
I'm not sure how exactly to go about selling images off of a website..

Well if you continue to post content here and receive good feedback maybe you could ask someone to help make one or pay a fellow steemian if you think that might be mutually beneficial at some point. I'm sure I could find someone that would walk you through or make a site for you to sell on. Or even eBay might generate a little income since posting is free and you could print artwork on demand when someone ordered. And then you could post your store address along with your pictures for people to purchase if you think that might help fund your passion. Keep it up!

love the steemit cap and t-shirt. nice pics too.

Thank you. I'm going to check every link that you sent me. I appreciate your input.