My name is Davey and I'm here to stay on Steemit

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

Just writing this post to introduce myself to the Steemit community. I'm really enthousiast about this blockchain social media platform and will definitely have a daily look what's going on.

So my name is Davey and I'm a 23 years old guy from a small city (120.000 citizens) called Dordrecht. The city is known for it's old buildings and beautiful architecture but to be honest I don't really see that, maybe because I'm used to the city. You can judge it yourself:

Dordrecht-binnenstad-2.png

This is a picture of the city center showing the main terrace in the background. Too bad it isn't crowded very often, but you can have a good day over there when the sun shines in the weekend.

A little bit more about myself.

I would describe myself as a social geek. During daytime, I work for a company that distributes IT security software. Within that company I am mainly assisting enterprise customers with IT projects related to user authentication and cloud security. I have not been doing that "all my life" however: in the past (between my 15th and 20th) I was running my own company which was focussing on building websites and online marketing campaigns.

In my spare time I enjoy to be together with my girlfriend Sanne, which whom I have been together for the past 3.5 years. Furthermore I am interested in hanging out with friends, discover and experience craft beers, eat meat and go to festivals.

* My favorite craft beer: Gulden Draak.

Very heavy Belgium beer with an alcohol percentage of 10.5%, but with a sweet taste.
45e0471dc2-GULDEN DRAAK.jpg

* My favorite festival: Defqon 1.

I really enjoy some harder styles of dance music such as freestyle, hardstyle and hardcore. The Netherlands is known for it's many festivals, and Defqon is - in general - one of the biggest. I believe they have something like 155.000 visitors in a weekend, and that's pretty much for a festival in the Netherlands. They also have one of the craziest firework shows on both saturday and sunday night:

19399975_10154976255809775_7531363510511247848_n.jpg

Me and the blockchain.

As someone who is always interested in new technologies, I am fascinated by blockchain technology and all the possible applications. I currently own some Bitcoin, Ethereum, Ripple, NEM, Bytecoin, Dogecoin and STEEM. Just some small amounts which probably won't make me a rich man, but you never know... At least I won't feel guilty that I haven't bought any if the price tenfolds again.

I can still remember the time when I ran my own company and asked someone who applied for a job: "what do you think is one of the most disruptive technologies nowadays?". His answer was "Bitcoin". This was in 2010. After the job interview I went on Google to find out what Bitcoin was, but I didn't (want to) understand it back then. Oh men, if I had just put a few hundred bucks in it that time...

Nowadays, besides working a sales rep and investing a little bit of my salary into cryptocurrency, I also try to make some money by building websites in the evenings and weekends. Not only do I build custom websites for customers, I am also developing a Dutch cryptocurrency guide. It's already live and you can have a look at it: https://cryptostart.nl/. The idea here is to provide people with the right info about cryptocurrencies and which wallets to choose, while making a small amount of money from it using affiliate programs.

See you soon on Steemit

This was my first post on Steemit, but certainly not my last. I'm really enthousiast about the idea of a decentralized social media platform and am looking forward to helping the community grow by contributing quality content.

Best regards,
Davey from The Netherlands
10177287_4020134997115_1643601811_n.jpg
(this is me a few years ago, I though it was a funny picture to post)

Sort:  

Hi @dekoning93 welcome to Steemit! I like your presence in this blog, I am sure with the quality of content that you post here, you will be successful of course with hard work and able to interact with each other for the development of this platform. And I'm sure you'll see great growth.
I believe with passion and confidence you can do the best on this site. Keep Steem On and earn a great reward. I'm Hopefully my friend !! We are waiting for you to come in steemit. Visit my blog I have a recent post about my introduction. Let's check it out. Nice to meet you.

Drakenbier is best lekker, ja.
Welcome to steemit (:

Dankjewel! Leuk om hier ook Nederlanders te treffen

Inderdaad groeten Dibaco

Welkom Davey je bent een van de eerste 100 nederlanders op steemit gezellig. Zo en zo een vote en follow van mij. Check mijn steemacount als je zin hebt.
Groet Dibaco uit Haarlem

Ga ik zeker doen Dicabo!! Tof dat ik nog bij de early adapters zit.

Steem on groet Dibaco

Welcome to Steem @dekoning93 I have sent you a tip

Many thanks @bottymcbotface ! I appreciate it.

Welcome on steemit buddy o/

thank you!

Great @ragnartheking !
It seems like you are a very active users.

I'll read through your posts and follow up any advice that I find useful.

welcome to Steem! Do you sold your company or what happend with your company?:)

Hi Nils,

Well, I haven't sold it. Actually I have closed the company myself because I got in trouble because I wasn't really able to handle all that money in a good way. About a year after closing the first company I have opened a second one to get myself a new chance, but I found out that my passion was not in fulltime website development anymore.

Welcome :)
Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to the community, Davey! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Leuke post @dekoning93
Kijk hier eens als je wilt https://steemit.com/nl/@steemspoker/80-nederlands-sprekende-bloggers-beste-tip-voor-nieuwe-steemians
Deze post is van deze morgen. Klein Nederlandstalig groepje.
Mooie post overigens, ziet er gelikt uit!!
Upvote!
Mooie tijd hier op Steem......

Congratulations @dekoning93! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welkom op Steemit!!! \☺/