Introduction: An Artist

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello all, I am Julian Blythe (or discobear), an artist from Los Angeles, California currently living in New Zealand.
17362715_1255422521210510_6334411282424955074_n.jpg
My artwork is generally in video and audio formats. I have just completed my first album and released it on Soundcloud. My artist name is SoCalSilence.
https://soundcloud.com/julian-salma-blythe/sets/high-for-high-school-1
I'm really happy with the album overall and only expect my work to improve as I learn more techniques about sound and sonic space.

I also have completed quite a few music videos for my favorite artist and close friend Saphir. I will subsequently post her videos on Steemit for everyone to enjoy.

Currently before I start my next job working in the Kiwi fruit industry. I will also be working on a long form music video showcasing my talents in video production. It is my dream to become a producer of video and music without the help of huge marketing teams. I want to be independent.
10714586_688669127885855_3350009406692072103_o.jpg
This endeavor is not easy but I invite anyone to join me for the ride. Steemit is a promising platform that will allow many of us to do what we love and be recognized for it. The times are changing and I am looking independence from large scale record labels that tend to homogenize music for everyone. I'm weird and I want to stay weird.
12120133_877285409024225_473712999455923821_o.jpg

I shoot, and edit my own videos and have been since high school. However, I lost my way for a while. I passionately love video games and wanted to become a part of that industry. Unfortunately I realized that I was not cut from the same cloth as everyone else. I lacked motivation to follow through with the long and arduous process that goes into game development. Then I had a change of heart.
12734117_10206556847614517_7171089238241573043_n.jpg

I moved to New Mexico and studied media arts, reinforcing what I knew about graphic design, typography, film, and audio. During my undergraduate degree I made friends with audio engineers in the music department and began learning to use Pro Tools. Now I have an album that I can enjoy under my belt.

My posts won't be very long and usually contain my work with a paragraph description about each piece. Remember to follow and up vote me if you want to see some of the creations I have in the works!

Until then, keep being your wonderful selves.

-Julian

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome to steemit @discobear. It's a pleasure having you here. I'll upvote and follow your blog.

Right back at you! I gotta follow the foodies

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.