Introduction - In the words of Joe Walsh - Just an average guy!

in #introduction7 years ago

An Introduction to Who I Am
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_28e3.jpg

My Name is Don.
My Entry Point!
That’s me in 1951. I am the baby in the lap of an adolescent father with mom looking on.
Just your average North American Midwest baby boomer, brought into this life in the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago, Illinois.

The USA, Midwest was a great place to be growing up in the 50’s.

How do I describe myself;
• My boyhood – A mischievous punk.
• My teenage years.
o Tried my hand at being a sports kid – High school Teams.
• Mildly successful.
o Switched over to being a Motor Head. Street Race Cars.
• More trouble than I care to admit.
• Also, very costly.
o Found the Hippy in me.
• Rock & Roll Music –
• The Beatles
• The Rolling Stones
• Led Zeplen
• Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young
• Simon & Garfunkle
• Bob Dilan
• Just to name a few
• Mild Recreational Drug Use.
• Respect for Nature, Peace, and Love.
• Rejected War – But not motivated enough to do anything about it, but complain.
• Middle Age – Young Man
o Morphed from Hippy to Yuppy?
• Still liked everything about being a hippy, but things were getting expensive.
• Concert Tickets & Recreational Drugs
• Fine Dining Restaurants, Bars
• Entertainment – Dance Clubs
• Travel
• Found good Jobs, and Worked my way up the Chain to better Pay Checks.
• Grown Up
o Became a Family Man
• Found my Life Mate, and started a family.
• Bought a house in the Suburbs, on a small lake.
• Changed from spending every dime I made as I received it, to saving some of it for my future. Thanks to my wife’s insistence.
• Certainly had fun spending but it could not go on forever.
• Learned how to invest that money saved to compound my returns.
• Individual Equity Stock Market Picks.
• Crypto Currencies
o Became a Grandfather, and now on the edge of retirement.
• My Avatar at this moment is my granddaughter.

My creative writing teacher in High School once told me, that I had a talent for writing.
Maybe he was just trying to point me in a better direction then where I was going at the time. I never pursued it. I did like writing at the time.

Thought I’d give it a try here, and see what people may think of it.
Hope you enjoy the life stories I can tell about living in America, in what I think were the best times ever.

IMG_2135.jpg

Sort:  

Hello don and welcome to Steemit. A nice post you have written here. You might want to take a look at the markdown format (message formatting on Steemit) as well. I hope it gets you many upvotes. Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

Upvoted!
I welcome you to the amazing world of steemit! You will definitely get a whole new experience from all the wonderful people in this community.
Also feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for instant updates on assorted yummy and nutritious recipes.
All the best!