Family Travel Introduction

in #introduction6 years ago

Hello all. My wife and I divorced when my son was just two years old. Yes, I know that this is an awful way to start my tale and I wasn't going for shock value, just the truth behind the story. This was a terrible thing as far as limiting my time with my child and also of a marriage that failed. I thought it was the end of my world but something good came from this story.

I knew that I would not be able to give my son the "family" that I had hoped that he would grow up in but I wanted to do something to make our bond and time together mean more to both of us. So we started to travel together, as much as possible. Things were still settling down the summer that followed the divorce so the summer following his third birthday, we began our journey.

Our first trip was a great memory, especially for me, because I did not have to share my time with him with anyone else. We traveled to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina where we stayed for a week. We spent all day in or near the Atlantic Ocean and our nights eating seafood or delivery pizza on our balcony. My son began learning to swim and a new hobby for us was born.

Dek at Ripleys Aquarium in Myrtle Beaach.jpg First vacation

We have traveled a lot since that first trip and little did we know then how much it would help our relationship. We have tried many different types of foods and put many miles behind us. My son has taken fifteen trips around the sun so far and we look forward to traveling more now than ever. We have been to forty-nine of the fifty United States so far and have been to Canada and Mexico. I hope to write about a lot of those trips on here. If this is something that you are interested in, please upvote this post and comment to let me know. Thanks for your reading my story and I hope that you enjoyed.