Flagless Canuck - Unpaid and beyond

This should have been my first post but it wasn't. In any case, here we go...

On the 28th of January 2022, I learned that my employer was putting me on unpaid leave – effective March 1, 2022 – unless I undergo a certain medical procedure.

Despite watching the people’s Rights get trampled on more and more during the past two years, somehow this ultimatum still caught me off guard. For some odd reason I foolishly didn’t believe I would be put in such a position.

Yet, regardless of the decades I spent mind-numbingly toiling in a federal public servant cubicle, no matter my constantly positive work assessments, I was now heartlessly told to comply or I’d be kicked out the door.

I did not comply.

And just like that, I have no job, no benefits, no access to employment insurance, no pension. There is no recourse, no appeal process and no union to fight for me.

Meanwhile, I’m 51 years old, the wife and kids are counting me on, the mortgage payments continue, the bills need to be paid and the dog wants his walk.

What the hell am I gonna do?

I’m not sure but I do know that it is all up to me, and for what it’s worth, I’ll be documenting my thoughts and actions here. There might be something therapeutic about the process and – who knows – the content might be helpful for others who might find themselves in a similar situation.

So that's a bit about me and my situation.

Feel free to leave a comment to say Hi.

In the meantime, I'll try to figure out what Hive is all about and see if there's any value I can bring to the space.

Sort:  

Hello @flaglesscanuck! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

The best way to start your journey here in Hive is do an awesome introduction post. You can choose on whatever information you would like to share and be creative as you want to be. You might want to tag who introduced you to hive in your introduction post to thank them. This will help other Hivers get to know you and be comfortable supporting your works here.

It's also best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions. Feel free to tag @lovesniper @chillwithshanna once you have made your awesome introduction post!

Thanks lovesniper1 I appreciate the advice.

I'll go through the info you provided and see how I can make things better on my end.

Thanks again!