Migration to Steemit

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

My name is Howard and I'm here to tell you why I'm here to try Steemit.

Whilst I've enjoyed (and certainly benefitted from) years of indulging in the endless stream of information from Facebook and other social media networks, something started to change for me over past year that has left me wanting more from the social side of the internet. It's not that the instant access to all of the people who I do and don't want to interact with isn't a cool thing, or that the hilarious punchy memes aren't funny anymore. It's that the free market of ideas and information have been poisoned by censorship.

As somebody who has little patience for government intervention in public affairs (especially when it comes to the free exchange of ideas and information), I'm excited to try out this platform and hope to enjoy constructive exchanges with people who are trying to create a better world.

A bit about me before I close this first post: My background is in Chemistry and I have worked in multidisciplinary roles in the chemical industry for 9 years. Since last year, I decided to take some time out for myself and try to figure out what I really want to do in this crazy world.
I'm passionate about us creating a truly sustainable future and breaking away from what can only be described as a fragile corporate life support system. Some topics that I'm interested in and would love to explore on Steemit include:

  • Sustainability
  • Voluntarism
  • Technology
  • Altered states of consciousness

I have to give a shout out to @larkenrose for his great posts on here and unknowingly being a reason I decided to join this platform.

Thanks for reading, more soon!

Sort:  

I very much like your vision for what Steemit could help our society become. The more I learn about crypto and blockchain technology, the more excited I become. Things are changing faster and faster now, it feels a bit exhausting trying to keep up.

Altered states of consciousness is something I've had some experience with. I live in Brazil and drank Ayahuasca once... Something I'm intending to do again. It's not a 'fun drug' like so many others, but wow, does it teach you a thing or two about yourself!

Thanks for reading @mandelsage. I feel the same, every day it feels like the horizon of possibility expands as I learn more about the technology behind crypto, though the downside of course is the mental exhaustion from trying to keep up!

Glad to have found a fellow ayahuasca drinker here on Steemit. I have never been to Brazil but I would love to visit sometime. I attended a conference here in the UK last summer called the ESPD50. Experts in plant medicines from all over the world attended and gave some incredible lectures, you can find the content on Vimeo I believe http://espd50.com (let me know if you want me to send you links).

Anyway, if I ever make a trip to Brazil, I would really love to visit this retreat, it looks amazing! http://www.wasiwaska.org maybe you'd like to join? ;-)