Eldertech-My Steemit introduction

in #introduction7 years ago

71CF5D3F-D828-4070-9720-8F51648EC3AE.jpeg

I am old. I learned how to type rapidly in a high school class using an IBM Selectric which made for easy work of 'the quick brown fox ' scenario. I learned how to type accurately when I was late for the same class because I was stuck using the manual Underwood typewriters in the back of the room. Nevertheless, I was halfway through my varied career path before I ever used a computer - a clunky version of some early Apple pc - but I thought I was on the leading edge of technology and was on my way to various careers using computers whether I liked or understood them or not.

Computers and I get along very well now as long as I do what they want and don’t try too hard to understand them. I don’t code, but I do try to keep up. I read “Wired”. I use security software and update and backup regularly so I am a good user even if I don’t know my ones from my zeros.

Now, I am learning about markdown, blockchains, and crypto currency. However, the deeper I get into Steem the more mysterious it seems and I am really starting to doubt my comprehension of all things Steemian. Minnows? Hardfork? Witness? This is proving to be much more difficult to learn than typing.

P.S. I will take all the help I can get on this platform, so please assist the elderly along this new pathway.

Sort:  

Welcome at steemit media platform mis @klokalisi, and sucses for you at this steemit.

Your best bet, amusingly, is to use Steemit just as you would any other social network. Don't think about the blockchain, don't think about the currency, just concentrate on producing content that pleases you and that you want to share. If you're passionate about it, if you're excited about it, that's what's important.

The rest of the stuff is just not your problem, nor is it my problem. We'll leave that to the really hard-core folks. In the meantime we get to share ideas, play with some technology, and generally have a good time.

Anything is not a good time we don't need to do.

Aces! Good luck.

Welcome to Steemit.