My Introduction

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

I choose progress and value forward thinking in others.

Years ago I was not the kind of person to take an art history course. With change and growth as a theme for my introduction, I chose to change my perspective on art history.

I may have learned some facts about colors and painters, but what I learned most from that course was how artists define their approach to their medium. A recurring theme that artists had to continually define was progress.

Some artists embrace progress, changing their medium according to tools and methods of their time. They see opportunity in the new ways of making art and encoding their experiences onto canvas.

Others are disgusted by the idea. They want to paint the same way as those before them. To me they seem motivated by wanting to fight time itself. If they can use their medium the same way as the past, they can give a kind of life and relevance to the experiences of old artists by similarity and expect it from the future.

I choose progress, and that is why I am here on Steemit. I consider this platform a step in human progress by changing the ways we communicate and find value.

There are certainly aspects of myself I have left out of this introduction, but my goal is for a belief in progress to give context to all of my future posts.

Apologies to the community for failing to share a picture. I'm not in a photogenic mood today.

Noah Kubbs

Sort:  

welcome to steemit buddy...i have followed you... and please do upvote :)