Introduction

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends! My name is Louisa and I am a nurse living in the southern Midwest of the US. I am married, and we have a little dog.

One of the unique things about my story is that I grew up in a Mennonite community. You may not be knowledgeable about the Mennonites, but you have probably heard of the Amish. Mennonites are much like the Amish not quite as conservative or old-fashioned. My church was a split from the Amish back in the 1950's or 60's I believe.

Maybe l'll share some recipes from my Amish heritage. I have my grandmother's old recipe box.

I have many creative hobbies, such as quilting, cooking, playing with my dog, and reading.

Tonight I finished a silly and hilarious P.G. Wodehouse book called Quick Service. Steinbeck may be my favorite author. Probably. No, let's make that IS my favorite author. John Steinbeck IS my favorite author. I wish my writing had the versatility of Steinbeck's.

In addition to nursing, I was also an English major. I need poetry in my life sometimes because it gives me words. Cummings is my favorite poet. He messes with words and punctuation like a chef messes with food. (Hmm Let's see what happens if we move this to an unexpected place...)

Blessings to you all and may you all find your wonderful design.

Louisa
IMG_20170716_113129623.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @louisaseapy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! Following you as well!

Welcome to Steemit! My Grandma on my mom's side was Mennonite. I have had many things passed from her to me via my mom. Following you!

I'm intrigued. Tell me more!

My German spelling is horrible, but some things I love are plumma mouse, borcht, farmer's sausage, knitspraucht, heavy beautiful quilts, etc. I would love to learn the traditional recipes, and skills.

Well I have very limited German. Pennsylvania Dutch is more like it. Is borcht the soup that is pink because it contains beets? I have had it at a Mennonite auction. I have thought of posting a tutorial for cinnamon rolls! My mom's recipe is the best.

It can be beety pink.

My mom's was generally clear. Chicken and various veggies. No beets though. My mom's cinnamon buns were pretty dang good too. Definitely post a tutorial!

A new Steemian :-) hello @louisaseapy I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thank you! I'll venture over to your posts and discover your interests.

Thank you, i appreciate it!

Welcome @louisaseapy aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thank you! Following you as well!

Welcome to Steemit community, nice to meet you.
I am very happy to share with you, I invite you to follow me at @chantha, Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it.
I can not wait for your best postings. See you ...