Who Is No Tall Order: Introduction to Christopher Porter

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

My friend Leo told me about steemit, and has been a huge supporter of my crypto journey. He recommended I write an introduction to the steemit community, so here it goes!

Chilling at a Connect Co-Working

I am passionately inquisitive about people and technology. Have you heard the phrase "life can only be lived forwards, but sometimes only makes sense looking back"? Well that resonates with me!

A people person

Working in coffee shops and restaurants brought out a passion for understanding and relating to people. I would sometimes guess the birth order of a couple, or try to guess their DiSC personality type. Often taking this interest in my guests would spark amazing conversations and a few lifetime friends.

My most recent interest has been diving into the enniagram system and using that to better understand why I do the things I do.

Hobbies

My favorite thing is learning how to learn... which means I have many hobbies! The often come roaring into my life, then slowly fade for a time. Then a conversation or event brings them back. I now think of them like seasons that come and go, instead of life pursuits.

This may be the first time I have listed them as exhaustively as I can... so here it goes.

Photography, rock climbing, running, cycling, swimming, crochet, juggling, unicycling, slacklining, reading, sign language, model airplanes, computers, writing, singing, guitar, origami, drawing,

That was not as hard as I thought ;)

Work

  • Barista
  • Customer Service
  • Call Centers
  • Implementation Manager
  • Locksmith
  • Party Bike Driver
  • Social Media Manager
  • Writer
  • Consultant
  • Bartender
  • Server

I have found the most fulfilling work has been volunteering gigs. I am constantly drawn to the non-profit world as a means of having an impact in my community. As such, working on some presentations to help non-profits understand cryptocurrency. Excited to see where the next few months takes me.

Religion or Relationship

If you were sitting across from me in a coffee shop, and asked me if I was religious, this is what I would want to say.

I follow Jesus, but don't like religion. Religion is a bunch of rules to ear a free pass to heaven. I believe Jesus in his time here on earth deeply wanted relationships with people, and still wants that same thing far more than he wants a bunch of people following rules. If He was still walking around here on Earth, He would also probably not hang out with me, someone that often struggles with following rules and trying to be good enough, but would be around poor and broken people that need his love more than they need other people to think they are a good human.

Religon can often be offensive, so I used to censor my relationship from conversations since I am not always sure how to explain it. Still learning that... but glad to open that vulnerable part of myself here.

Thanks for checking out this snapshot of my life! You can read more of my writing at http://notallorder.com

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @notallorder. Injoy being the creative being you are!

Hey thanks @innerstellar glad to be a part of this community!

Welcome to steemit! Great to hear you have so many interests. I love to learn too and constantly find myself trialling new processes or ideas. Looking forward to hearing more! I'll be following you :-)

Awesome! Thanks so much for the kind welcome @yasminep ! Looking forward to learning from you and others in the community.

Unicycling eh? Do you actually own a unicycle?
Welcome to Steemit.

He absolutely does! He's ridiculously good.

You mean, he goes to work on his unicycle?

Uni6.jpg

Not riding to work on this bad boy... but it sure is fun to ride :)

Yes. If you mean to ask if he uses it as a regular mode of travel, he does. That's not all he rides though. He's really into his folding bicycle right now. @notallorder is one of the most fearless people you will ever meet. He is consistently trying new things and challenging his comfort zone.

Thanks @r351574nc3 you are too kind! I used to consider myself an early adopter... but found you were into things I was just discovering :)

Hi how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I’m a new steemit user as well and would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

I see that one skill is missing from the lot: short hand note taker. Have you ever considered it? Mnemonics should also be there.

@simonluisi Have never tried it... but would be fun :) Have you read anything about the memory palace? Memory champions use it to memorize long lists. Mnemonics + memory palace would be quite the technique! (and something to add to my list)

Here in Canada, Francis Blondin used to be a juggler, a unicyclist and a cuber and made friend with a circus acrobat. Then he learned about memory techniques and is now the Canadian Memory Champion having obliterated most national records here. It's very obvious to me that you could do very well at that too, without too much efforts.

Great intro post @notallorder! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @simonluisi sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!


Welcome to Steemit @notallorder!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

I do a daily devotion Thoughts for the day if you're interested.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman