An Introduction

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

Hello, I'm seethefnords, real name James.

To an observer watching my life, the narrative they may construct would likely revolve around physical exploits. Indeed I spent much of my childhood and teenage years embedded in the world of martial arts, and more notably spent most of my twenties zealously dedicated to a form of acrobatics known as Tricking. Indeed the impact of Tricking on the person I am today would be difficult to overstate and remains one of the defining aspects despite having not practised in several years.

231160_7495621582_8448_n.jpg

However, the observer who documents only this should be described as lackadaisical, for there is another important thread that has run in the background throughout most of my life, well known to those close to me, yet unsubstantiated in recorded activities. To sum it in a single word: philosophy. That may be a misleading description however, as the branching of concepts and ideas cross many boundaries. Perhaps most pertinent to this platform, I am somewhat of a futurist.

The purpose of this blog is to explore conceptual models with a narrative overlay. There will be a skew in the beginning towards speculation and hypothesis of futurist and transhumanist ideas. Later, once certain concepts have been introduced, the scope and depth will be extended as I explore other subjects, with the eventual goal of coming full circle with a vastly more expansive lattice of ideas.

One important disclaimer that I would like to make clear from the start is that I will be presenting conceptual models for consideration, not constructing some kind of closed system of truth or of belief. As such, at times I may present multiple contradictory models without attempting any definitive resolution. I'll leave that up to you.

This is all very vague and I have avoided saying much about myself in this introduction... well, I have a story to tell and don't want to give away the plot too soon.

All right, enough of this! It's time to begin.