I Live in Fly-Over Country

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

During this past presidential campaign I kept on hearing this odd phrase being used by news networks like CNN and MSNBC, they kept repeating the phrase "fly-over country" , and speaking of the occupants of this place like they are some alien species, without human ideas and thoughts. So what exactly is "fly-over" country? We can look at it technically, as in, a place that is not a specific destination for great masses of people. Or , perhaps it means we are so far from an international airport that flights are already at their cruising altitude when they pass over? Huh. Well , I guess where I live, in central Pennsylvania, fits both criteria.

 I have not lived my entire life in "fly-over" country. I was born and raised in Northern NJ, which is basically an extension of New York City. My aspiration in life was to live and work in Manhattan, which I did for many years. And guess what? I found out city life is not all it's cracked up to be, living in a small space, always dealing with traffic, always waiting in line, it's even a chore to throw your garbage away!

I have lived in "fly-over" country 10 years now. I am very spoiled. My commute to work involves 2 traffic lights over 15 miles.
I hardly ever wait in line. My neighbors are not arms length (or less) away from me. Most people are nice, they smile and say hello. No-one gives you the finger while driving, no fighting over parking spaces in the mall.

I love "fly-over" country !!

Sort:  

Whatever anyone says living out of the horrible busy smelly city's and big towns is absolute bliss, having all the privacy and room you could possibly want! Why would you wanna live anywhere else? Those city folk have no idea how much better a quality of life the more rural people have!

@alexrickard86, I knowI can't even stand being in the "suburbs" anymore. When I go to visit I feel like there are too many people around me!