Hi, Harry here.

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hi, I'm Harry, and that's my face.

A bit about me

I started web developing back in 2009 properly when I was 14, developing text-based games. I was developing games that were built upon the McCodes base, which had a booming community back then. If you're unfamiliar with those types of games, Torn was the biggest back then - unsure now as I don't follow that "niche" anymore.

Now, I'm a full stack web developer - though primarily focusing on backend - developing web applications for the company I work for. I create systems for our intranet to manage e-commerce orders from various custom built websites and 3rd parties. The order management system I help develop links with various couriers APIs (RoyalMail, UPS, DHL, Yodel) to generate dispatch labels and allows the warehouse to ship thousands of orders a day.

Whilst not dabbling with blockchain functionality, I develop mainly with the PhalconPHP framework which is a great compiled framework dedicated to making really fast platforms (since it's compiled as a C extension).

I also love to watch films, my favourite genre being physiological thriller and horrors. I'm kind of an "oddball" being in the IT industry and never have seen Star Wars and have no interest in it - so please don't hunt me down for that :D

I also like to watch short-films too, my 2 favourites are be;

I've expressed great interest in blockchain technology this year mostly, especially the Ethereum technology. I'm planning on officially releasing my Chrome Extension soon to solve a problem I was having (so many unlinked Ethereum addresses on webpages, and I was spending time copy/pasting them to explorers) and I hope it helps other people too. I am trying to get some code reviews on it to reduce peoples concerns on an invading extension that could do malicious things (since it requires permission to edit the DOM).

In time, I plan to push some dApps soon when I've built them up more, though right now, I'm just "dipping my toes" into this technology.

My goals

Since I've come out of the game niche, my main goal is to build applications that help people on the Internet by either automating their tasks and just making their lives easier with the use of software.

I plan to stay around on Steemit sharing knowledge and chatting to users - it seems like a very nice community from my lurking on;

My Socials

Just some self plugs here;

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @sniko!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @sniko I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey, thanks bottymcbotface :)

Hope you enjoy being here!

Thanks williamhathaway, I'm sure I will, thank you!

Welcome, pleasure to meet ya! I share your disinterest in Starwars lol. Did you ever play Torn? I gave it a shot, but never stuck with it for long. All the best! ^_^

Aha, awesome - I'm not alone!

I did give it a shot, but mainly just to grasp the game mechanics to try and replicate into my own games I was building - I was never really a player of TBGs, I much preferred developing them.

Welcome to Steemit, @sniko!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

Hi moisesmcardona, thanks for the welcome!

You're welcome!

Hi there ✌🏻Let's be friends:3 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer! I'm not flooding/spaming, I'm just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver 🐶🐶🐶 Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot ❤️

Hi Vikky friend, I love dogs, definitely will take a look at your content :)

Thanks) u are always welcome

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks williamhathaway :)

Welcome @sniko :) hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit :)

Thanks appreciator, same to you :)

You are more than welcome

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :)

Thanks Elsabailey6 :D

Hey Harry welcome aboard buddy. Checked out those two short films you mentioned, I really enjoyed dirty laundry. I've never gotten into or really even known about short little movies like that, you should do a post where you share some more, really dug both of them.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hi empower-leads - thanks for the link, I'll be sure to check them out.