My Introduction: A Life Forever Changed

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemit! My name is Scott, I am a 23-year-old living in Toronto Ontario Canada, originally hailing from Halifax Nova Scotia. A year and a half ago, I found bitcoin and my whole life changed.

IMG_6844.jpg

A little about myself: I have suffered from depression and anxiety my whole life until recently. These feelings being based on my discomfort with the system that we have been born into here in the western world. I've spent a large portion of this beautiful life I've been given with no faith in humanity. I had a fairly rough childhood, and got through some extremely hard situations, which i may get into on some posts in the future but generally i felt that there was no hope at all when i was living in Halifax. I needed a change.

Toronto_ON_Toronto_Skyline2_modified.jpg

I ended up moving in with my mother who lived in Toronto a few years ago after she was the victim of a major car accident so that i could help her recover from her injuries.

Throughout my time here in Toronto I tried to find myself, and after going to some networking groups and trying to find the path I wanted to take, I came across a crypto currency investor who introduced me to the seductive and exhilarating world of Bitcoin, and my life forever changed.

I remember walking downtown with him after an entrepreneurship meet up, and him giving me the basics about what a crypto currency is, and how Bitcoin can and will change the entire social structure of our planet. I became obsessed. I don’t think I slept for at least 48 hours after hearing this, scavenging the internet for any information I could gather about this blessing to humanity. I gained a large amount of faith in the future and for once, there was something that humans as a decentralized community could participate in to rise together, above the establishment. I saw a very bright future ahead.

_87767935_gettyimages-450765322.jpg

I was just trying to grasp Bitcoin for what it was and quickly realized there was much more to the picture, specifically alternative crypto currencies, and little did i know there was a major up and comer from Toronto that would soon make history.

I had attended a meet up at a small venue, Decentral, here in Toronto. I wouldn't realize how important all this meet up was until months later. This meet up was hosted by Anthony Di Iorio, who aided in the creation of Ethereum, and more recently the Jaxx wallet. During this meet up, my friend came to me and asked me to invest in the new project (Ethereum). Now I had no clue how much this would take off, and being new to the game and low on funds, I decided to opt out of investing in this project, and I would soon find out how wrong I was to make that decision. I learnt very quickly that this new world is full of learning experiences.

From then on, I was hooked for life, and there was no turning back. I had officially gone down the rabbit hole, realizing the sheer potential that cryptography has.

U5dsjmTwguZND4pohAnqETC3uArbWBU_1680x8400.png

As I grow on this platform, I want there to be at least something that will give my readers an idea of who it is that there listening to. Bitcoin saved my life, without this technology we would all have little hope to overthrow the systems that have us surpressed, it gives us all a fighting chance. I thank everyone who is helping keep this alive, and here on Steemit, we can pave the way for a future that rewards us all.

Stay tuned to my account, I will be posting many interesting articles on a wide array of topics. I hope you enjoyed my introduction and I look forward to connecting in the future with you guys!