Introduction post..........Hello my name is Cameron but you can call me........

in #introductionpost2 years ago (edited)

![](imageSo, as I said, my name is Cameron and I live in a smallish city in Southern California about 5 min walk from the Pacific Ocean. Yes I will be inserting tons of pictures as the ocean and sky are my two favorite things to take photos of.
IMG_2226.JPG
maui.jpg

Whilst this isn't my first post on Hive, this is my Introduction post, I'm not exactly sure how to explain it, but I seem to always do things just a wee bit out of order (and most assuredly out of cadence) . It isn't an intentional thing, it just seems to happen that way (believe me, it isn't necessarily a good thing) and to be clear it usually creates more work or extra set of challenges, it also usually ends up working out in the end. That being said, I don't really recommend doing things the way I do, as I'm a bit of an anomaly (that sounds so arrogant and conceited when I say it, I hope it doesn't come across that way). Ok, ok, back to the task at hand. If you haven't noticed I write similar to the way I think and speak so please excuse me when I see something shiny, my attention is pulled in that direction, I am usually pretty good and bringing myself back to the main topic.........eventually that is. Let me get this out of the way right here right now, I have no bloody clue what I am doing! I don't care what it may look like or sound like or seem like, I assure you, I haven't a clue. Let me tell you a little story to illustrate an example shall I. This was many years ago when I had just moved to Utah and I was I think 19 or 20, was looking for work and came across a job fair.
snow.JPG

I happened upon the job booth of Gateway Computers and they were hiring for their UK Technical Support division. So keep in mind that this was back in late 90's early 2000's ok, personal computers were just beginning the universal adoption process, dial up was just getting going, AOL 1 was still in its early stages (you remember they would hand out a "disc" that had the software and like 500 free hrs or something like that). Ok, so the stage has been set. I am interviewing for this job to do computer tech support and they are attempting to ascertain my level of experience and knowledge of computers obviously, which at the time was probably slightly more than most (having had a computer in my house growing up from the time I was just a wee pup, the KPRO+ I believe it was called) with the external modem port that you put the home phone on. Oh ya, high tech all the way. So anywho, they ask me if I know how to repair computers or are comfortable with repairing them, to which I responded "if my computer stops working, I usually pick it up and bang it against the wall a few times until it either starts working or breaks completely". To my surprise, I got the job and boy oh boy the stories I could tell you about that job. Point I was making is please believe me when I say, I haven't a clue and am just poking my way along the hive blockchain and cryptocurrencies as a whole I am being 100% genuine. Unlike my brief stint as a computer tech support rep, spent flogging calls and faking my way through every single customer call (if you were an owner of a Gateway computer and lived in Ireland, Scotland, Wales, or anywhere in the UK during the years 2000-2001 and called in with an issue with your monitor and had someone tell you to unplug the monitor, take it into another room wait 15 minutes and call us back, I am soooooo sorry).
above the rainbow.jpg

I am convinced that this is the future and that those who don't learn about it now and get ahead of the upcoming universal adoption of smart contracts, blockchain technology, and cryptocurrency are going to have similar experiences as did all those brick and mortar stores that just added .com to their name but didn't really have any online presence during the .com revolution. If you can't recall the names of those businesses, you just made my point. So anywho this is me Cameron. I am interested in all things blockchain, crypto, and technology. I am fairly tech savvy (at this stage in my life), enough to follow instructions, trouble shoot and fix most basic software or hardware issues without resorting to banging the device against the wall. I have a wife and two step sons (the oldest just started college in Washington DC) and I am a full time college student as well. So nice to meet you. If you have any questions or have any suggestions on where I can direct my time and attention to learn and master the Hive Blockchain, it's tools and resources, please shoot me a reply or a message. I would be oh so grateful. I hope you enjoyed my intro post and if you did just know I plan on writing many more posts. The topics will be things I have learned in my 40+ years on this wonderfully diverse and beautiful earth, thoughts, philosophies on life, religion, maybe politics ............ on second thought I will probably steer clear of both religion and politics for the time being.
IMG_3021.jpg

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @vikingingergiant, my best wishes on your HIVE journey 🤗

Loading...

Welcome to the Hive community @vikingingergiant!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and publish and do everything except Wallet with the Posting key
  2. Use your Active key only for wallet transactions, Keychain, Peaklock, Hivesigner, and Hivelock,
  3. The Owner key and the Master password are only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; but copy and store them offline in a safe place,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. Do Not click on any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hiveans available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Congratulations @vikingingergiant! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Well if there is one thing I can relate with is that even I get distracted when I see bright shiny things 🤣🤣🤣 like you did say your not generally a newcomer but this is your introduction post so welcome to hive Cameron 🤝 have fun and good luck on your hive journey.

Why thank you kindly.