Invest don't gamble.... If you do gamble only do it with house money

in #investing7 years ago

I started investing in cryptocurrency one year ago. I started with $155 and bought Etheruem at $8 per coin. I bought the currency on Coinbase and long story short I forgot about it. 4 months later it was worth $1500. The first thing that came to mind was, "why did you not invest more?" but looking back this small investment set the stage in learning about the cryptocurrency market and growing my portfolio to more than $50 k in one year with only $5000 (note: $5000 over time not all at once).

My hope is to provide some advice that will help anyone looking to dive into this market. Like any investment there are risks. However, the rewards are great so long as you have a plan. Here is my philosophy and plan that has helped me. (by the way, please share any other information that you may have that could potentially help improve my investment strategy)

Before I begin, I want to make it clear, I am not a financial advisor. I think I am humble enough to know that there is still much for me to learn and have probably got lucky.

  1. Only invest money you are willing to lose and don't leverage your investment.
  • many investors get too aggressive and even leverage their investments by buying with money they don't have. This is a reckless way of investing. One may get lucky but investing in this fashion is playing with fire. If you do use leverage (i.e. paying with a credit card to buy bitcoin on Coinbase) let it be because you have the cash available to pay the card in full.
  1. Invest in the "big boys" at first.
    -With so many currencies to invest in many new investors look for the cheapest currency to invest in and hope that it goes up in value by a large percentage. Although it does happen, this type of investment is just gambling. Let's be real, investing even in the "big boys" like; Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin is still a speculator investment, but if one is to speculate; speculate on the currency that has shown consistent growth. The temptation to buy cheaper currencies is always there but play it safer (I say safer because there is no sure thing in cryptocurrency) by buying the more expensive currency.

  2. Venture only after the big boys produce for you

  • I am not a fan of selling any of my "big boy" currencies, but when I do invest in other currencies that I have vetted I only do so after I make a profit. Of course, this is obvious but many investors sometimes get too greedy and don't stick to process. Even if the processes is wrong it is better to have a process rather than have not process. Only then could you make the adjustment.
  1. Last...

-Don't invest to make money. Invest because you believe in the technology. Of course, we all want to make money but I started investing in bitcoin because I fell in love with the free market solution of developing a media exchange. I have always been a rebel at heart. Always like the idea of "sticking it to the man" when the man fails to conduct itself ethically. Bitcoin and other currencies allow the opportunity to do this. The truth is, we don't know what the future holds. We don't know if this will work. However, this could be the begining of a currency revolution. The Feds have failed the american people and other foreing governments have done the same. At the end of the day there is nothing any government could do to stop any cryptocurrency from become a medium of exchange so long as the population agrees for it to happen. They could try to regulate it but in the end they will not be able to stop it. This is parallel to how King George tried taxing the collonies to stop them from become independent; however, there was nothing they he could do. Crytocurrency is a revolution ready to happen. This is the opportunity to make yourself rich in the process. I started investing in cryptocurrency one year ago. I started with $155 and bought Etheruem at $8 per coin. I bought the currency on Coinbase and long story short I forgot about it. 4 months later it was worth $1500. The first thing that came to mind was, "why did you not invest more?" but looking back this small investment set the stage in learning about the cryptocurrency market and growing my portfolio to more than $50 k in one year with only $5000 (note: $5000 over time not all at once).

My hope is to provide some advice that will help anyone looking to dive into this market. Like any investment there are risks. However, the rewards are great so long as you have a plan. Here is my philosophy and plan that has helped me. (by the way, please share any other information that you may have that could potentially help improve my investment strategy)

Before I begin, I want to make it clear, I am not a financial advisor. I think I am humble enough to know that there is still much for me to learn and have probably got lucky.

  1. Only invest money you are willing to lose and don't leverage your investment.
  • many investors get too aggressive and even leverage their investments by buying with money they don't have. This is a reckless way of investing. One may get lucky but investing in this fashion is playing with fire. If you do use leverage (i.e. paying with a credit card to buy bitcoin on Coinbase) let it be because you have the cash available to pay the card in full.
  1. Invest in the "big boys" at first.
    -With so many currencies to invest in many new investors look for the cheapest currency to invest in and hope that it goes up in value by a large percentage. Although it does happen, this type of investment is just gambling. Let's be real, investing even in the "big boys" like; Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin is still a speculator investment, but if one is to speculate; speculate on the currency that has shown consistent growth. The temptation to buy cheaper currencies is always there but play it safer (I say safer because there is no sure thing in cryptocurrency) by buying the more expensive currency.

  2. Venture only after the big boys produce for you

  • I am not a fan of selling any of my "big boy" currencies, but when I do invest in other currencies that I have vetted I only do so after I make a profit. Of course, this is obvious but many investors sometimes get too greedy and don't stick to process. Even if the processes is wrong it is better to have a process rather than have not process. Only then could you make the adjustment.
  1. Last...

-Don't invest to make money. Invest because you believe in the technology. Of course, we all want to make money but I started investing in bitcoin because I fell in love with the free market solution of developing a media exchange. I have always been a rebel at heart. Always like the idea of "sticking it to the man" when the man fails to conduct itself ethically. Bitcoin and other currencies allow the opportunity to do this. The truth is, we don't know what the future holds. We don't know if this will work. However, this could be the beginning of a currency revolution. The Feds have failed the American people and other foreign governments have done the same. At the end of the day, there is nothing any government could do to stop any cryptocurrency from becoming a medium of exchange so long as the population agrees for it to happen. They could try to regulate it but in the end they will not be able to stop it. This is parallel to how King George tried taxing the collonies to stop them from become independent; however, there w ahve as nothing he could done. Crytocurrency is a revolution ready to happen. This is the opportunity to make yourself rich in the process.

Sort:  

Congratulations @relik2002! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @relik2002! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!