Seriously contemplating running for office

in #iowa7 years ago

I have been thinking the last several weeks about running for a state (Iowa) legislature seat. In all honesty, I would much rather be in congress, because the issues I care about more are at that level. However, I can still be of use at the state level. I don't know much about agriculture, but I am sure I want subsidies to come to an immediate end. I am wanting to get rid of the state income tax. I am absolutely sure I can find ridiculous laws on the books that are antiquated, limiting of freedom, or that favor the government over the citizen. Oh, and I want people running sanctuary cities in Iowa removed from office. Basically I am far more interested in removing laws than adding to them.

The seat I am looking at running for is district 33 held by Brian Meyer (Democrat), which is the south side of Des Moines, where I reside.

Why should anyone vote for me? If you believe the state is important or necessary, you should NOT vote for me. If you believe the individual is more important than the state, then you probably should. It's just that simple. I have not made up my mind if I would run as an independent or as a Republican. As a Republican, I may get help from the party. If an independent, I would be a little more honest with my beliefs.

Sort:  

At one point I used to read quite a bit of this type of literature. I now no longer buy into it because it's difficult enough job just trying to get voters to buy into the ideas of liberty, without trying to confuse them further with Sovereign Man arguments. I also do not believe in any of it at the end of the day. Thank you for responding to my post however.

Running for office is tough. The three main questions that come to mind are, How much money do you have? How much money can you raise? How do you plan to win? You need to nail down those three things, in that order to come up with winning strategy. You platform will come down to two or three big issues. Go for it if you can afford it and get the money. I would say Republican because at the state level it is a lot harder to get things done as an independent. Just my suggestion. Good luck

You will not get any argument from me that money can and does smooth the way. Having said that, I actually believe the Donald Trump methodology can be a winning tactic, saying things just to get attention. This would negate the need for large sums of cash, if you can harness it and get enough vocal supporters.

How do I plan to win? Nothing other than preaching about the need for liberty and values. I understand not many people are interested in these things things, and if so, I don't want their votes.

The big issues to run on in my mind are issues of taxation and limited government as well responsibility and values.

I am honest enough to admit I don't have all the answers, but smart enough to know all problems can be solved with dedication. I will accept responsibility when I screw up, unlike many other elected officials. I am a very strong believer in open communication. I would be far more interested in spending time with constituents than I would be with other elected officials in the state house.

There are many aspects to running for an elected position that need to be managed for sure.