Is western life becoming more and more meaningless?

in #is6 years ago

I know this may seem like a blog post but there's a discussion in here i promise. Feel free to skip to the last paragraph.To set things up though, i need to tell you a bit about my day. I live in a big city where i go to law school. I live with my girlfriend in an apartment which we love to show off to people. I have to work a job as well to afford my rent. Yesterday i went to the doctor because i've been feeling incredibly tired and have had a pretty bad cough and headache, and was diagnosed with a temporary problem derived from the dirty air in inner-cities, which i am exposed to more of than most people due to me living, working and studying in one. Later i fall out with my girlfriend because i complain that she was getting me down (she was complaining about how crappy her shift at work was, and refused to respond to any of my efforts to put a bright, more optimistic note on thigns), so i go to my law building to look up some old journals to help with my assignment. I sit there for a good two hours, feeling pretty empty and depressed, writing an assigment about legal instruments and fairly pointless arguments which have very little impact on the world. Then i log onto my facebook to take a break and read a few status updates like 'got a massive blister on my foot' and 'cant wait for my new camera to get here!' and something stirred inside my conscience and almost without control i deleted my facebook account. I looked down at my iPhone and really wanted to just throw it as far away from me as i could. I just felt overcome with a feeling that my entire existence was just utterly pointless, as was the entire city around me and all of its inhabitants. I got thinking about what i'd give to live on a warm beach in a little shack where i can relax, talk with my neighbours, raise some kids and that's about it. No apartment, no nice car, no working in an office or typing away on a keyboard without purpose. No dealing with horrible people, be they rude, arrogant, ignorant, violent, racist or anything else. DISCUSSION BEGINS HERE Is western life becoming more and more pointless and meaningless? It seems to me like the goal in life thanks to our capitalist society is to make as much money as possible, surround yourself with as many nice things as possible, and then die having fulfilled no real purpose whatsoever in all your years. What do you guys think?

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.