You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Support those working to expose abuse and save the Rewards Pool. Part 4 with Witness @lukestokes

in #itnt7 years ago

I notice one member with 72 reputation milking reward pool every day with few copy pasted articles on which she gets 40$+. Meanwhile know many people writing articles in their words and getting only pennies.

Sort:  

If you see Copy/Paste articles and can provide a source for the original material that is being profited from, report it to Steemcleaners. Or slip a note to @sherlockholmes. Abuse is abuse, whether you are a 25 reputation or a 72.

If you don't want to get personally involved, send me a message on discord or steemit.chat. My username is the same on all three platforms. I am happy to look at the profile, and if I see what you do I will make sure people who can do something about it are notified.

thanks for joining the discussion!

Is there a guide for those who would like to be guardians of the community? Here are some questions that I hope to find answered in the guide.

  1. I see a user who writes loads of very short replies on random aricles, like "Great Post - keep it up". This kind of spam post irritates me. Often the original poster (OP), replies with a "Thank you" and upsteems or rewards the spammer. What can I do?

  2. Do I lose anything if I flag a comment or down-vote it?

  3. Someone took umbrage at one of my comments. He wrote abusive comments on several of my articles, used foul language and he went through many of my posts, downvoting or flagging them. What can I do? (This really happened. He also abused lukestokes for no reason at all when he came to my defense). So far I have not flagged or downvoted the abuser.

  4. I am on steemit for the reading, writing and learning pleasure. I am not here expecting to earn money, although, that does have "bragging" advantages. I would be willing to pay money, (e.g. To Buy influence on Steemit), or to lose some of the Steemit money I already earned, in order to increase my influence andhelp keep Steemit clear of spammers, abusers, trolls, and those who are only here to milk the rewards system with no effort on their part. Can this be done? How? What safeguards are in place to protect the community, if such a whale just pays money to become an excessively over-powering influential troll?

  5. Some people respond to an article with a short comment and include a link to their own article. I have no problem with this, if it is pertinent and relevant. Indeed it is often very useful. However, at the other end of the scale, we have those who are doing it habitually and randomly on lots of articles where the motive seems, not to to join in a discussion about the article where the reply occured, but rather, to divert users, or the OP, to another topic. Sometimes it's a fine line. The OP and replier might be good friends, and always let each other know when they posted. Sometimes it's obviously spam. Is there any way to grade, or reduce the worst of this behaviour?

Well I am sure there would be many more questions like the above. The main point of this post is to ask for a link which answers these kinds of questions. I am sure there must be many such links, but my searches seem overwhelmed by links to other kinds of guides, or to discussions - like this one.

Try steemit.chat and ask around in the steemitabuse channel. We don't have a perfect system here, but it is what we make of it.

Wow! This is a great list of questions. I don't know if such a guide exists at this point, though it should. Maybe someone else could share a link to such a thing if it exists.

I've got some things to get to today, but I will check back this afternoon, and if no one has dropped a link for you with the answers to these questions, I'll try to do some research and put something together to address them for you!!

Message sent on steemit.chat

Hi cmoljoe, did you send the Steemit.chat message to me, swissclive? As far as i can see I did not ever receive a private message from you, nor from or anyone else ever. I sent you one to test if it works just now.

sorry. that was to me regarding someone who needs to be checked out.

message received.

No I didn't.