The Day I Lost My National ID

in #itruewillsave6 years ago (edited)

Back in December 1992, I was 14 years old. My family and I were on a holiday in Palembang, Indonesia to visit our relatives. We only had 5 days to spend before we had to drive back to Medan and then fly back to Malaysia.

One afternoon, my elder cousins took me out to a mall and I decided to play the bumper car. That was fun but it didn't last long until I found out that I lost my Malaysian national ID. Either it slipped out of my pocket or I got pickpocketed. I was so scared that my mom would find out because I knew I was going to get a beating. True enough! As far back as I can remember, my mom spanked me for being so careless.

On the other hand, I was fortunate that I didn't really need that national ID in Indonesia as I still had my passport with me. Cutting the story short, the holiday ended and we flew back to Malaysia. When we got settled down, we decided to make a police report about my lost ID before we could apply for a new one.

At the police station, I was interviewed by one of the officers. He asked me where did I lose my ID and I got muted for a while. I didn't know what to answer. Should I be honest? Finally, I told him that I might have lost my ID somewhere around the local market. My report was accepted and I managed to apply for a new ID. Phew!!

However, this was probably one of the worst things that I have ever done. Telling a lie in order to save myself and my mom from going back to Indonesia to make a police report.

26 years have gone by and I can never forget about this incident and ever since, I have always been extra careful with the things in my pocket. Sometimes, I just wish that all we need is our face or fingerprint as our ID. We are our own ID. Why do we need to carry documents? I really hope things will change in the way we identify ourselves. But, will this ever happen?

Perhaps.. #itruewillsave

Author: @TogaMamora
ETH: 0xB7DCe1B36B8E57b9C9160CdB9DaaD16a9935319c