You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2020-05-03

in #j4 years ago

As a former daily listener for like 5 years or so I know AJ's personal brand of news delivery. The major thing I disagree with him is his belief in the constitution instead of natural rights. In his documentary Endgame AJ says he does not pursue anarchy because it creates a power vacuum which leads to more dictators. For the sake of brevity let me just say I disagree. Another disagreement I have with him is his recent cheer leading of the president. The very last show I tuned into he was interviewing Donald Trump. He did not challenged on some important issues at that time; maybe he did for the sake of time.

I don't judge or even think less of people who post his information. I know his tactics and shenanigans so I don't get wrapped in the he-said-she-said thing. I sometimes laugh alongside with him, and sometimes at his expense --I am not proud of that. The people who endlessly criticized him are somewhat neurotic themselves; not everyone simply a generalization. They are fair critics out there but I mean there is a whole industry making fun of him. I don't think that's by accident, but sometimes he makes it easy for them.

Ultimately, it was not these disagreements that made me tune out from Alex Jones. I meditated on the effect his personal brand had on me after listening for days, week and years without stopping. I felt dis-empowered, frustrated and isolated so I stepped back from his broadcast. I decided to do the research on my own, pursue my life and made many mistakes a long the way. I can safely say turning my back on this phase of my path to self-knowledge was a great decision for me.

Sort:  

In the Middle East, when government falls, it has created power vacuums. That is history. Why would the future counter the past? If you don't listen to Alex Jones now, what do you do? Do you watch and listen to other people? I try to watch and listen to all kinds of people.

History is not a fixed star but a process between people, power & knowledge distribution. People in a given geographical area choose their path through categorization of reality; what they believe and what they see. For example, in Afghanistan ancestral tribes rule the land and modern governments are ineffectual. Because the family ties, the mountains and the underlying difference in ideology. In Mexico the Federal government does not reach to rural native communities. The indigenous community live under a different language, code of conduct and set of autonomous laws. The natural default position of all peoples is universal absolute freedom. People choose their enslavement for the sake of convenience, the comfort of the crowd and acculturated normalcy bias. Even with a standing government you will have power-vacuums. These power-vacuums are dependent on the extent of resilience & autonomy people are determined to exercise.

Do you watch and listen to other people? I try to watch and listen to all kinds of people.

I also try to get my information from many different people from across the political spectrum. I really enjoy listening to the other side and making a decision on the information presented. Sometimes I may listen to foreign analysis to get an outside perspective.

That makes me wonder how good and bad those rural Mexico communities are or might be in different ways. I guess it also depends on whether or not cartels rule and control some or all of those communities. I noticed a contrast between the government in North Vietnam with South Vietnam, that is when I was living in Hanoi and Saigon.