2013, November

in #j5 years ago (edited)

Taught English at Moc Cafe. Visited Up Speak English. Also taught with FYG. I moved from Tan Phu to District 1. Began teaching Thu Duc Kids.

Moc Cafe 902692_796972300319655_281775639_o.jpg
Moc Cafe - I drank and taught English here a few times

Biking

2013-11-01 - Friday - 02:07 AM - David Udinkan - Facebook Group Post - 4 hours ago: "Does anyone here get around by bicycle? Any tips, advice, or suggestions for a newbie to cycling in Saigon?" I commented - a second ago: "I have been living and biking and teaching English in Saigon since February 2013. I bought a $170 USD (3.2 million VND) mountain bicycle. I do not have a bicycle. The other day, I peddled from Q. Tan Phu to Q. 12 to Q. 7 to Q. Tan Binh to Q. Phu Nhuan and back to Q. Tan Phu one day, which was over 50 km. I average around 30 km or more each day on my bicycle. I'm 28 years old. I was born and raised in the United States. I've been cycling for the past 21 years since I was 7 years old. Go with the flow of the traffic. Stay predictable. Slowly merge and slowly turn. The motor-bikes run into bicycles all of the time. People do not want to run you over. I can go over 20 km per hour at times. I go past bicycles and even motor-bikes at times, especially during rush hours and traffic jams. I can squeeze and do the almost impossible by surviving. It may be dangerous but it is also very exciting for me to say the least. You learn how the traffic works. The more you learn, the easier it gets to deal with it. Stay confident. The better your breaks (BRAKES), the better your chances of survival. People are often scared in the streets. Use the fear to your advantage.... I bike on highways even." People I met in real life. 09:43 PM: Hoang Vi Lieu messaged me: "Do you understand my slang?" 08:19 PM: Phương Dung emailed me: "Hi Joey, Today, we'll teach unit 10 " A new friend". - Reading: descriptive letter page 68 and practice conversation. - Listening: identifying different friends. - Explain negative contraction don't/ doesn't. Thanks for your help. Have a nice day !!!! Sent from my iPad." 2013-11-02 - Saturday - 02:11 AM: me: "Thanks. My Facebook is http://FB.com/OriginalOatmeal." I met law stuent Tân Huy in 2013 and would teach him and his friends English at cafes off and on during my time in Vietnam. I met him originally at the Drink & Talk Coffee Shop.

Payment Force

2013-10-13 - Sunday Visited Up Speak English. Was told to pay. I said it should have been free for me. Somebody might have said it would have. The owner or manager told me to pay. I said no. He continued to tell me. I continue to talk back and argue for like an hour. As time went on, he would raise his voice. Then, I would raise my voice. I stood there until he told me to go. I think this was in October or November on a Sunday. It was just one time.

Facebook Joey Arnold Friends

2013-11-01 - Friday - 08:13 AM - List of Friends Who Like Joey Arnold Friends: Lakera Miller.

Halloween Review

2013-11-02 - Saturday - 02:31 AM - Brother Rick Arnold - Facebook Post - 2013-11-01 - Friday - 02:17 PM PST - 12 hours ago: "I didn't have a scary Halloween yesterday thankfully, but about 80 people where I work did. They came in and found out they were laid off. I hope at least their bosses made it a little more enjoyable by saying it in a British accent, You are the Weakest link, Goodbye. Or, You have been voted off the island. I would have liked to see a competition to see who could keep their job. That would have been cool." Crystal: 06:07 PM - 8 hours ago: "I'm happy to hear that you were one of the lucky ones that kept your job." Me: a minute ago: "Did I miss Halloween? Was it on Thursday? Well, for me in Vietnam, that day was like any other day, where I go to like different coffee shops, houses, and English Clubs (which is what I normally do daily). In Vietnam, cafes may put up Halloween decorations and have parties, but other than that, you will not see thousands of children (absent of parental guidance) walking through the streets while pretending to be people or things that they aren't. You'll see more western holiday recognition more closer to the center of Saigon of Vietnam, since there are more international tourists more around the more popular spots of HCM." 2013-11-02 - Saturday - 05:56 PM: Mom: "we had no trick or treaters at all. Larry will be eating the bag of candy. LOL."

Sunday English Club

2013-11-03 - Sunday - 03:32 AM - Phương Nguyễn tagged me in some photos at the Mộc 37 Cafe where I would drink and teach English at a few times. She told me I could drink for free as long as I brought enough friends, students, AKA paying customers. I asked her one time about that and that's what she said. I wasn't happy about that but it is her business and I respect that. 2013-11-06 - Wednesday - 03:48 AM: I emailed myself: "5 PM Sundays: Weekly English Club: Moc Cafe: 37 Thép Mới, phường 12, quận Tân Bình, HCM."

New English Center

2013-11-06 - Wednesday - 04:51 AM - My Facebook Post: "I am a founder of a new English Center in District 1 of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Can you share this status with your friends? For more information, please email me at [email protected]. Joey Arnold. Restore Main Street. Drink&Talk English Speaking Club. Grace Cafe Saigon. Moc Cafe. Vietnam Oatmeal. Master's Cup Coffee House, Saigon, Vietnam. English Rain coffee. Oatmeal English. The Joey Arnold Club. Oatmeal English: The Original Oatmeal: The Joey Arnold Club: Vietnam Oatmeal: I am a founder of a new English Center in District 1 of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Can you share this status with your friends? Photo: http://MeaOmnia.com/o Oatmeal English: The Original Oatmeal: The Joey Arnold Club: Vietnam Oatmeal: I am a founder of a new English Center in District 1 of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Can you share this status with your friends? For more information, please email me."

Learning Vietnamese

2013-11-06 - Wednesday - 03:23 AM: I emailed my teacher, Tran Dao Phap: "I was your former student around March, April, and May, of the year 2013. My name is Joseph Scott Arnold, or Arnold Joseph, or Joey, or the Original Oatmeal. I attended your English class on Tuesday and Thursday nights, 7 - 8:30 PM, at the University of Social Sciences and Humanities (or Technology?) Center For Foreign Languages. I have been in Vietnam since 2012. I teach English. I am from the United States. My skin is white. I wear glasses. I am 28 years old. I have been in Saigon since February. I am still here. I am still learning Vietnamese. Thanks for being my teacher."

Tran Bao Tan

2013-11-06 - Wednesday - 10:12 PM: Trần Bảo Tân emailed me: "Please give me more imformation about new English center in district 1." 2013-11-07 - Thursday - 12:04 AM: me: "More information will be made available in time. Right now, we are still giving out surveys to people. We want to find out when students want to study English, and for how much money. We want to know how many students they want to study with. We want to know which skills and specific things they want to study. Can you fill out this survey, below? 1. When do you want to study? 2. Where do you want to study? 3. What do you want to study? 4. How many people do you want to study with? 5. For how much money?"

English Rain

2013-11-07 - Thursday - 03:11 AM: I emailed myself: "My work schedule: English Rain Coffee: 42/20 Nguyễn Giản Thanh, phường 15, Quận 10, HCM: 7 PM Fridays: jaoofriday. Bệnh viện thẩm mỹ Hàn Quốc 10.

Tiem Long - Day 001

2013-11-07 - Thursday - I met Tiem Long - He was my student. He said he worked at the airport. I met him at the Solo Cafe: SOLO coffee - Cơm trưa văn phòng: address: 134 Hoàng Hoa Thám -Tân Bình, HCM.

English Rain - Friday

2013-11-08 - Friday - I taught that night, there. Helped out. Each week for like 2 months or so in 2013, generally, I would visit, teach, help, for some minutes, and then run or bike a few miles over from that cafe in Q.Tan Phu or Q.Tan Binh and over to Q.1 for FYG English.

Charlene Jolly 11050302_10153047746172850_6564747194815584969_n.jpg
Charlene Jolly)

Stop Giggling

2013-11-09 - Saturday - 11:48 PM: Charlene Jolly Abhi Jessie O'Chax: "Stop giggling." Met her online either Facebook or Couch Surfing. She was from France or at least spoke French. She knew some English. She was new to Saigon, Vietnam. She was asking for help, advice. Where should she go as a tourist, new in town? I invited her to visit Moc Cafe like on a Sunday. She called me. I went outside to find her. The Taxi let her out down the road. She was reading the addresses of the houses, trying to find the cafe. I walked around looking for her while on my phone talking to her. Found her. We made it to the cafe. I was shocked at how tall and beautiful she was. Still am amazed. Helped her meet the owner at the cafe. I probably only saw her a few times.

Nhi Nguyen

2013-11-09 - Saturday - 11:52 PM: I emailed Nhi Nguyen: "Hi." Our email conversation began back on August 11, 2013 at 07:34 PM. 2013-08-11: I wrote to her: "I just wanted to email you again and wish you the best. I hope you can continue to help other people, especially in teaching English to children. Please let me know if you want or need my help again. I helped you once and you paid me a bunch of money. I ejoy teaching English to people, especially to children. I thank you for letting me help. It was good that you were able to give me money, but I think you are just a student right now. You are younger and you have potential, even when people do not always believe in you or trust that you can teach English. Please be patient. You were very nice but I do not think you have all the money in the world. If you ever could hire me again, that would be exciting, or you could maybe pay me less money if you cannot give me as much money as you did before, or I may think about doing it for free, that is if you cannot really pay me any money at all, because I do want to help, and I do have time to help you for this month of August 2013 because I am not working at all teaching English anywhere. I do not have a job this month of August 2013. I am not working at all, which means I am not making any money this month. I was also only working 2 weeks in July. Schools may have more work for me in September. So, next month, things may be better for me if I can get more work for next month, which may mean that I might be more busy next month and the following months. But feel free to email me or call me or text me or talk to me on facebook, and let me know how things are with your life or with teaching English to others, or whatever, and let me know if you ever want me to help again, and you can let me know whether you could pay me again or not, but you can tell me that you cannot pay me money if you want to or need to say that, and I will think about it and I can tell you my plans and what I think about all of that and we can talk more about these things later whenever you want to or not." 2013-08-12 - 06:25 AM: Nhi: "Hi Joey Arnold, I really appreciate your help and to be quite honest, I really don't know how much money I have to pay for foreign teacher, so I asked an American teacher and he said that it was about 500,000 vnd for 2 hours. It was not cheap, especially with a student like me but I want my students to have an English environment for practising English and you are the best choice. Now I'm quite busy with my studies at school and I will contact you asap. Cheers, Nhinguyen."

Two Hot Women Asked For My Number

2013-11-10 - Sunday - 08:55 AM - Facebook Post - 28 minutes ago: "Two beautiful Vietnamese women gave me their number just a few minutes ago in HCM, Vietnam. In the United States, men dream of asking girls for their number. Only in Vietnam may you find luck like this; or is it only because I'm Joey Arnold, AKA The Original Oatmeal? What's the answer? You decide. PLEASE SHARE THIS STATUS WITH OTHERS. Let me tell you how this story began. Once upon a time, my friends fixed the front breaks of my bicycle. Later, I slammed on my breaks in the middle of a highway intersection while surrounded by cars, trucks, and other motor-bikes in the dark, that is around 11 PM Sunday, 2013 November 10, Vietnamese time, which was some minutes ago. When I pressed on the breaks, I fell off my bike. In other words, I got in an accident with myself. It is like tripping over your own shoelaces. It is like chasing your tail as a dog. It's like being afraid of your own shadow. Immediately after falling onto the pavement and cement of the road, I jumped back up and unintentionally broke the wire that controls the breaks for my bike. Now, I have no breaks. I will continue riding my bicycle. I may not be able to get my bicycle fixed because I do not have much money. Now, a minute after getting back on my bicycle, two Vietnamese models, on their one shared motorcycle, started trying to talk to me in Vietnamese. I tried telling them in Vietnamese that I do not understand or know the Vietnamese language, and yet they continued trying to talk to me. They asked me to pull over. One girl gave my bike a test-drive. They noticed that they could not fix my bike. I told them my age (28 years old) in Vietnamese. They returned the favor by saying that they are around 24 years old. I told them that I was from the United States. They asked for my number. After that, I told them that they are beautiful and that I love them. They smiled as we part ways. For more stories, please join my number main Facebook group and club, which is called the Original Oatmeal Club. PLEASE ASK OTHERS TO JOIN MY CLUBS, TO LIKE ME, AND TO ADD ME. PLEASE TELL THEM TO SHARE THIS WITH OTHERS. THANKS. JOEY ARNOLD: ORIGINAL OATMEAL: YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT. STAY ORGANIC. Vietnam Oatmeal. Joey Arnold Friends. Washing Hands. Rick Arnold. Marilyn Mitchell. Nicholas Littlejohn. Nhan Hong T. Oatmeal English Club. Restore Main Street Club. Oatmeal Writing Group. Tiffany Lo. Fellowship Youth Group. Charlene Jolly. Mea Omnia Club. Nguyen Phuong Dung. Trung Thanh Bui. Võ Thanh Phương. Pika Pika. Bach Thuy Duong. Nguyễn Bảo Sơn. Binhugo Nguyễn. Mymy Vo. Le Quoc Tien. Van Ha. Taelee Nguyễn Quỳnh. Z Coffee - Cocktail & Wine. Moc Cafe. Phuc Dao. Winny Phạm. Lò Mí Xoắn. Ngốc Xít. Phạm Thanh Quyết. Master's Cup Coffee House, Saigon, Vietnam. English speaking club - Tân Phú, Tân Bình, dist. 11, Gò Vấp, Bình Tân. Bon Journey. Nguyễn Bích Phương. PLUS, PLEASE ADD ME AS YOUR FRIEND. I AM THE Original Oatmeal. PLEASE SHARE THIS UPDATE STATUS WITH OTHERS." Kim Cuong: "You are wrong. Which woman isn't same two women that you say." Me: "What am I wrong about? Did I make any absolute statements or exact judgement conclusion, or is all of this mere observation? Was I judging? Was I making any specific universal racist bias stereotypical assumption, judgement, statement, at all? You know what I mean? Please do not read into this. Please do not exactly read between the lines. Do not misinterpret, misread, misalign from what I am actually really trying to say." Tiffany Lo: "im sorry but can u plz move my tag Joey?"

Barbie Anna Videos

2013-11-11 - Monday - Made videos with Anna. I would drink and teach at the Z Coffee - Cocktail & Wine cafe: address: 50F Hoa Sứ, phường 7, quận Phú Nhuận, HCM. This was probably the first time I met her in person. First saw her on Hi5 or Tagged.com and then added her on Facebook. 08:43 AM: Anna: "My adress 429/2F nguyen kiem str , 9 ward , phu nhuan." 08:20 AM ICT: Tuesday: me: "Can I come in the afternoon?" Anna: 10:51 AM ICT: "Yep you can . And you can go to eat lunch with me 10.000 vnd. A big bow of noodle and some meat In market." So, maybe we first met not Monday but Tuesday afternoon, Saigon time. I visited Grace Cafe a few times in 2013: address: 6/5 Nguyễn Huy Tưởng, phường 6: quận Bình Thạnh, HCM. They had English clubs at 7 PM daily, except Sundays. So, I would attend a few times to help teach English. Aaron Nguyen.

Airport Man

2013-11-12 - Tuesday - 05:49 PM - I shared Facebook Message Conversations between me and Tiem Long which began back on the 28th of September, 2013 at 11:41 AM ICT: "Hi Original Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Nice to meet you. My facebook is Tiem Long. I was working at the Tan Son Nhat airport. I want to learn English more. I have an apartment in District 4 near District 1. We can have coffee and discuss." So, I met with him a few times around September to November, 2013. Taught him English a few times. First met him at a cafe in the Tan Binh District. He helped me fix my bike, my flat tire. I even pushed or held my bike while riding on his motorbike. We went to his apartment one time District 4. I invited a female Vietnamese college student to one of our classes, to join in learning English. I might have asked if it was ok. I don't remember if I asked or what I said. But people were always trying to learn English from me and I was always trying to multitask and save time. I let her come. There may have been a few other people that joined at least one time. I wanted them to meet each other and network. I thought that was a good thing. He didn't like that and told me that later on. I would sometimes ask him a bunch of questions. I would tell him that I was trying to teach him life lessons including the art and the value of communication. He probably bought me some food a few times. Maybe some drinks. But like one time, he didn't pay. So, I messaged him and asked him about that. He was like, "Isn't the class tuition enough for you? What else do you want?" I was like, "I'm trying to teach you life lessons, it's not about the money." I've had these types of conversations for so many years with so many people in America, in Vietnam, in many places. People think I'm just thinking about the money or about myself or other things. but I was only trying to help. So, we went back and forth on things. He had some dogs at his room in District 4. He said he lived in Tan Binh which means maybe he moved there later on or had another house or something. At one point, I wrote: "Today Morning & afternoon I'm busy, evening is ok, I'm living in District 4 near D.1." We probably met at a cafe at I waiting you here, 52F Hoa Su. Maybe he didn't come mett me one time because it was raining. Many of my students would have that excuse. Monday, I asked him: "Do I have to pay for my drink at Solo Cafe?" Him: "Yes, because I just free for you first time a day." Me: " you didn't tell me that before I only wanted to go to Solo if it can be free more than one time a day. You said one meal a day. but you did not say anything about the drinks until now. you skipped those exact details earlier. you may have assumed that i understood it all. you should have given me a reminder as i was going back to Solo tonight." Him: "What do you want now?" Me: " I know now I am trying to teach you about communication skills. You forgot to tell me that I can only have one drink per day. It was kind of confusing when I heard the details from you before." Him: "My salary for you is not enought?" Me: " That is not what I am saying. I am trying to teach you about how to talk in English. I am saying that I misunderstood what you were telling me. I am saying that I did not understand what your original offer was until now. The conditions on the contract was not exactly clear." Him: " Do you ask too much? Today, I repair your bike and eat lunch, dinner free. So, is this not enought for today? Now what do you want for me?" Me: " no. you are misunderstanding me. that is not what I am saying. I thought you understood the English language. that is not what I am talking about. I am talking about the word "COMMUNICATION." I am talking about language. I am not talking about those other things. You are misreading me." Him: "Don't ask a lot from me." Me: " I did not. I am not asking." Him: "If you think i not good you can finish it." Me: " These are not questions. That is not what I said. That is not what I am saying. I am not mad. I am not asking anything. I am telling you things. Education. Informing. Not questions. Information. Data. I am not upset. You are fine. You are a good friend. I am trying to help. I'm not discontent." Him: "I'm going to let you off the hook this time, but don't ever do that again, and now i will pay for you." Me: "Can you read English?" Him: " Yes. But forget it. See you tomorrow, Don' t be late." Me: " You know why I was late today. I am sorry that I was late Monday morning. I want to make sure you understand everything that I write to you. I will try not be late. i will try not to be late tomorrow." Him: "Okie, I see." Me: "They are charging me 161.000 VND." Him: "Who?" Me: "They are charging me for karaoke. But karaoke is suppose to be free. I am still at Solo. I order a drink. The drink is suppose to cost 20.000 but they say it costs 41.000 VND... they want me to pay for my drink and for singing. only me. it says bong too. but i did not order anything else. i only ordered one drink. i do not understand the rules.... i have never been to a bar in vietnam before.... i did not buy a flower. singing is free. nobody told me this. i cannot pay. i will not pay. this is not fair. it is not right. those things did not happen. they put flowers on my table. i gave flowers to a singer for fun i did not buy flowers. i do not understand. i thought your brother was the owner. owner means 24/7... and i did not know those things cost money. i do not have flowers. they are sitting on my table. i did not ask for flowers. there are flowers on every table...." Him: "But, he Sub-lease." His brother. Him: " i cannot afford the bill. i do not understand the details. He just 7am until 8pm.... You should learning about culture. Of Vietnamese. Call her come and talk with me..." Me: " buying and selling is an international thing that has separate rules. buying and selling has nothing to do with vietnam or any particular country. there are suppose to be certain trade rules. customers should understand the conditions before entering." Him: "You should know vietnam has law." Me: " vietnam opened their borders. vietnam is borrowing the ways of other countries. including the code of honesty..... I am at Solo right now. I am not late today." Him: "Yesterday morning, you didn't teach me anything...." Me: "You didn't ask." Him: "I don't pay for you free." Me: " You were mad at me. You left. I never said no to you. I never said that I was not going to teach you. You assumed things. You judged me. You attested situation wrongly. It is a misunderstanding. You told me that you do not mind if other people join in with us. I invited other people because you told me that was fine. I was waiting for you to tell me what to do because that is what you did in the past." Him: " Now, I no need you. Don't post on my facebook. Delete it. Delete your post on my face, now." Me: " You are overreacting. you might be having a mental break-down." Him: "Delete your post on my facebook, now." Me: " you are acting bossy. you need to listen." Him: "Now, not pay, not free coffee and lunch... do not respect teachers like this... I don't need you. You teach me nothing." 08:45 AM: " If only I had a quarter for every time I hear things like this from Vietnamese people. For the past year in Vietnam, at times, I run into Vietnamese people who tend to cheat me and to have temper-tantrums in my face when things don't go there way. It is very sad that things kind of happen from time to time. I sit here as a humanitarian, and I suffer and endure such abuse in my life for the sake of making the world a better place."

Use It Or Lose It

2013-11-12 - Tuesday - 05:49 PM - Facebook Post - "In life, do not be too fast to make assumptions, judgements, without understanding all the variables, details, because life is not always that easy to interpret, apply, understand. Too often, humans make these mistakes. Families, marriages, friendships, businesses, and other people and things, are all destroyed through and by and from quarrels, from these kinds of messes. In life, we need to be more patient, before thinking that we understand what is happening. Remember that you told me that we could study with other people. I was waiting for you to ask for help like you have in the past." Tiem Long: "There's an expression in learning English - if you don't want to lose it, use it."

Going Not Gonna

2013-11-14 - Thursday - 12:05 AM - I also wrote to Joy Dinh: ""Everybody was going home." Not that "Everybody was gonna home" because "Gonna" is slang and short for a future-tense of "Going" to describe that they are going to go home later in the future, as in someday, as in not right right in present-tense or past-tense even. You can write that you are gonna go, as in that you will go home. But not gonna in past tense."

Learning Commas

2013-11-14 - Thursday - 12:23 AM - I corrected Joy Dinh's English homework. She asked for advice. I may have made mistakes, but I tried. I changed a sentence she sent me to: 02:48 PM ICT: "The governments, whom muzzles the freedom of speech, run a risk......." Joy: 03:02 PM: "you are wrong, that's what I copied from my book...plz don't correct my mistakes if I dont ask... you can correct others' mistakes if they ask or want someone to correct ..." Me: "There needs to be some pauses between the different thoughts. The commas are used as breaks to separate the different clauses. Joy Dinh, you need to be more open-minded. Do not be so stubborn. You should listen to the advice of native English speaking teachers like me. You should not separate yourself from the group. You should be transparent enough to accept corrections, reproof, discipline, enlightenment, that can accelerate and advance your skills in life. It is better to be life-long learners. It is more suitable to take in criticism and to listen to feedback, comments, messages, ideas; that is even when some pills are tougher to swallow at times. Many times, even native English teachers ignore the technically and the details that goes into commas. Commas are often very commonly ignored and looked past. English speakers may even argue between whether commas are necessary at times. Often times, commas make things sound better, that is even if the commas are not always technically, exactly, and specifically required. Remember that you are not exactly a native English speaker. Remember that I am absolutely a pure-breed native English speaker from the United States. I am also a professional writer. I've been writing for the past 20 years in English. I have been writing and speaking in English for the past decade in front of large audiences. In the United States, I would even correct other native English speakers. We all make mistakes. I make mistakes as well. You can always correct my mistakes. Even as a native English speaker. Even as a native English teacher. I will keep myself open to that." Joy: 21 hours ago: "my bf is also a native English teacher, and he told me I was right, you were wrong... dont be so stubborn.... I know why some English centers dont recruit you... I corrected your mistakes but you didnt listen to me, I hate that." Zhiqing Yan: "When speakin there is no need for that. As long as it makes sense. You don't have to be so strict like that. Dont have to show off you experience in English. Joy Dinh open this topic so people can discuss about it and nothing more. And pls do not make a war or any argument." Bruno Vieira: "I agree Zhiqing. I believe this group was made to share what every each one knows about english. No matter how advanced or beginner you are. If Joy doesn't want have her posts corrected, we must not do it. It's her right. This virtual place is for teaching and learning, not for changing principles." Alexandre Lara: "These are the limits that I have said before. Like Bruno Vieira said: "If Joy doesn't want have her posts corrected, we must not do it. It's her right.", it's a proof that we have freedom to speech (at least on the internet) but it is important respect the decisions of others." James Hickman: "Mr Oatmeal, you are acting like an asshole. Care to critique that?" Me: a second ago: "You need to research about the importance of commas. You shouldn't simple resort to the advice of others. Often times, even love blinds us. We need to get second opinions about things. Clauses should be separated with commas. Many native English speakers are ignorant of these things. Native speakers are not always the best English teachers. What you need is the consultation of writers. Humans should desire doing what is better. It is always better to help people. When people are going the wrong direction in life, you shouldn't just let them. If your plane is about to crash, you should help your friends out, even if they do not want your help. You do not let people crash and burn. Do not merely seek to please others. Seek to truly help others. People do not always know what they need in life. We should seek to give others what they need over what they simply desire, want, through, depravity, lust, of the eyes, and the pride of life. Life is too short to let people go down the wrong paths in their own lives. Clauses improves grammar. Commas are fundamental."

HOLA Got Talent 2

2013-11-17 - Sunday - 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM - approximately - English Club Party - met Angie Les: Angela Francis. and others. Played guitar. We took photos. Went to Pizza Hutt or something and ate pizza. I only met with them that one time.

FYG English Schedule Proposal

2013-11-17 - Sunday - 10:53 PM - "Nếu bạn muốn tham gia câu lạc bộ tiếng Anh mới tại quận 1, vui lòng gọi 090-312-4615. Do you want to join the new English clubs in District 1, no? The club fee is 300.000 VND per month. There will be snacks, games, activities, fellowship, music, videos, photos, exercises, new friends to make, more English to master, unforgettable memories to attain, and so much more..... SCHEDULE: We are offering the following clubs: CLUB A: 07:00 AM - 09:00 AM: Mondays and Wednesdays. CLUB B: 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM: Mondays and Wednesdays. CLUB C: 07:00 AM - 09:00 AM: Tuesdays and Thursdays. CLUB D: 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM: Tuesdays and Thursdays. CLUB E: 01:00 PM - 02:00 PM: Tuesdays and Thursdays. CLUB F: 03:30 PM - 05:30 PM: Tuesdays and Fridays. These clubs are being brought to you by the Fellowship Youth Group (FYG) and by the one and only Oatmeal English.... OTHER CLUBS AND OPTIONS MAY BE AVAILABLE. For more information, you can even talk to Joo Nguyen. You can talk to Luc Dinh. They are Vietnamese. They can tell you more about these things. They know Vietnamese. Life is short. You must invest in yourself, that is for the sake of your future. We may or may not be associated with the following clubs, cafes, etc: Grace Cafe Saigon. Master's Cup Coffee House, Saigon, Vietnam. Drink&Talk English Speaking Club. HOLA English Community. Saigon American English Club. Immanuel English Club.. English Rain coffee. English Club. Emmanuel English Vietnamese Center EEVC. Speaking English. Gossip English club. RMIT Vietnam English Club. International English Speaking Club. English is Fun. English speaking club - Tân Phú, Tân Bình, dist. 11, Gò Vấp, Bình Tân. The Love English Club. English Club by Foreigner Manager. English Club SaiGon - ECS. Let's talk in English. English Class 4 All. TOI TU HOC English Club. English Group. ENGLISH FOR VIETNAMESE. Sai Gon American English Center. Basic English Skills. YES! YOU CAN SPEAK ENGLISH!. TOEFL. TOEFL Flashcards. TOEIC. English Chat. Dạy Tiếng Anh Từ Thiện - English Teaching Charity. Let's speak english..... English Club by foreigner managers. Speaking English In HCMC. TIẾN BỘ English. English Chat. Chương Trình Đào Tạo “Học Tiếng Anh Giao Tiếp bằng phương pháp Effortless English” Tại 123TV. Z Coffee - Cocktail & Wine. Moc Cafe. Learn Spoken English....."

English Class Fee Info

2013-11-17 - Sunday - 11:59 PM - Nếu bạn muốn tham gia câu lạc bộ tiếng Anh mới tại quận 1, vui lòng gọi 090-312-4615. Để biết thêm thông tin, bạn có thể liên hệ Luc Dinh, Joo Nguyen, Fellowship Youth Group: Hãy chia sẻ điều này với những người khác. Lệ phí câu lạc bộ là 300.000 đồng mỗi tháng."

Add Me - Be My Friend

2013-11-18 - Monday - 01:40 AM - Facebook Post - I wrote - a second ago: "CỔ PHIẾU. XIN CHIA SẺ TÌNH TRẠNG này với người khác. XIN HỎI KHÁC là bạn của tôi. Lời chúc mừng đến tất cả mọi người. Là bạn bè của tôi, không có? Nếu bạn không phải là bạn của tôi, bạn có thể xin vui lòng gửi cho tôi một yêu cầu kết bạn, không? Bạn có thể xin vui lòng thêm tôi, không có? Bạn có thể xin vui lòng chia sẻ với bạn bè của bạn, không có? Bạn có thể chia sẻ điều này với những người khác, không có? Tôi có thể xin được làm bạn với tất cả mọi người trên thế giới? Bạn có thể xin vui lòng chia sẻ với những người khác? Bạn có thể xin vui lòng bạn của tôi? Một số câu lạc bộ tiếng Anh mới: Nếu bạn muốn tham gia câu lạc bộ tiếng Anh mới tại quận 1, vui lòng gọi 090-312-4615: Để biết thêm thông tin, bạn cũng có thể nói chuyện với Joo Nguyen. Luc Dinh. Tien Tran. Dịch sang tiếng Anh như sau: Translated into English as follows: Greetings to everybody. Are you my friend, no? If you are not my friend, can you please send me a friend request, no? Can you please add me, no? Can you please share this with your friends, no? Can you share this with others, no? Can I please be friends with every person in the world? Can you please share this with others? Can you please be my friend? There are some new English clubs in District 1 that we are starting. For more information, please call 090-312-4615... ADD ME: Thêm tôi. Hãy là bạn của tôi. SHARE: CỔ PHIẾU."

Oatmeal English Members

2013-11-18 - Monday - 02:39 AM - List of some of the members in my Oatmeal English Group on Facebook. 07:19 PM: I emailed myself: "Joy Cafe: 14 Calmette, Nguyễn Thái Bình, Quận 1, HCM: 07:00 AM - 09:30 PM Thursday. Kim Ngan Nguyen ." TOEIC English Club.

Call Me Joey

2013-11-20 - Wednesday - 01:51 AM: Tuyen Hoang commented on my Facebook post: "So I call you Joey, right ^^."

Mexican Aladdin

2013-11-21 - Thursday - 09:24 PM - I replied to this Facebook Picture: "This photo is being used by Disney for the inspiration for a new Latina love-story cartoon between a princess and a guy that sort of looks like Aladdin, but from Mexico. Hawaii will never look the same again. Live long and prosper. Never look back."

Writer Kim

2013-11-22 - Friday - 05:42 PM: Kim Ngan Nguyen Facebook messaged me: "i'll give that number to friend. pls help me to edit this writing, i hope to receive it this afternoon. thanks so much for yr helping me.... tomorrow morning at 7am, cresent mall dist 7, they have tex running, if you have freetime, join in with us." But I don't think I did.

Fired For Marketing

2013-11-23 - Saturday - 01:32 AM - I WAS FIRED AGAIN. Tôi bị mất việc làm ngày hôm nay. MY BOSS, AT THE Saigon American English Club, GOT MAD. HE SAYS I SHOULD NOT TALK ABOUT MYSELF ON HIS FACEBOOK PAGE. HE MAY LOSE STUDENTS. Ông chủ của tôi, tại Sài Gòn Mỹ CLB Tiếng Anh, nổi giận. Ông ấy nói tôi không nên nói về bản thân mình trên trang Facebook của mình. Ông có thể mất học sinh." 09:49 PM: This Club Hates Oatmeal - "This club HATES JOEY ARNOLD, the ORIGINAL OATMEAL, WHO IS A NATIVE AMERICAN ENGLISH SPEAKER, TEACHER, IN SAIGON, VIETNAM SINCE 2012. THIS CLUB TOLD HIM THAT THEY CANNOT TALK TO SPECIAL PEOPLE. THEY SAID THAT JOEY IS NOT FRIENDLY. THEY SAY THAT JOEY IS MEAN AND SPECIAL AND NOT NICE. YOU CAN READ MORE ABOUT THIS ON MY BLOG AT ADD JOEY ARNOLD HIS FACEBOOK IS ORIGINAL OATMEAL joeyomnia DOT blogspot DOT com."

Arnold Island

2013-11-23 - Saturday - 01:49 PM: Katie emailed me: "I sent you the highlights in photos. Dad is visiting Ricky now. Dad came and he saw and then he left. It was amazing to see Dad and he came here not to see NYC he came to spend time with his daughters. It was very moving and we all behaved well. Just wanted to share the happiness with you. Hope you are keeping up with creating art in whatever form you are doing. Your creativity and voice is a gift to the world. Katie."

Living God Joey

2013-11-23 - Saturday - 09:12 PM - Toeic & Giao Tiếp - Anh ngữ Tôi Tự Học told me that I was too arrogant, proudful, full of myself, bad, etc, etc, as a teacher and as a human. I posted on their Facebook page on Monday, the 11th of Nov. '13 at 09:58 PM ICT: "Can I come?" 2013-11-22 - Friday - 12:19 PM ICT: after receiving no response, I added a new comment: "Where? When? How much money?" They replied: "You may find some interesting information by visiting the website provided below. The ticket price is 35,000 VND.... Câu lạc bộ tiếng Anh tại TP HCM với Mr Danny Daraughn - giáo viên người Mỹ, thực hành nói qua các chủ đề khác nhau. Môi trường năng động, vui nhộn." 12:46 PM ICT: me: "You should make the information more accessible. Sometimes, information is too hard for some people to find.... I am a native English speaker. Why do I have to pay? Do you want to have fluent English Teachers at your club? Most of us are paid money. This means that we prefer getting paid. You should not charge native English speakers...... I do not know Vietnamese. When I look at the information, I do not understand it. That makes things more difficult." Them: 27 minutes ago: "We've already had a native speaker to be the host of every event. Thank you very much. [Bear]." Me: 26 minutes ago: "You can only have one Native Speaker?" Them: 24 minutes ago: "One is enough, I think. And sorry I didn't know you're native speaker. [Bear]." Me: 18 minutes ago: "One is never enough. You can never have enough." Them: 13 minutes ago: "We know that is enough. Thank you. [Bear]." Me: 7 minutes ago: "That is your opinion. You cannot always trust what you know. How you see things may not always be what is really there. You need to be open-minded enough to consider second-opinions about everything in life." Them: 3 minutes ago: "Ok, to be honest, if we need another speaker, it's not gonna be you. Why? Just take a look at what you said. "I am a native English speaker. Why do I have to pay? Do you want to have fluent English Teachers at your club?". You acted like a living God that we always have to welcome. But actually not, we only need a friendly and modest people to be the host (and we've had one), or to be the friend of everyone. I met a lot of native speakers who always consider themselves special. Maybe you are, but just because you don't look like us. You're not the only ones who can speak English in Vietnam, I can be so sure about that. [Bear]."

Sucky Joey

2013-11-23 - Saturday - 09:44 PM - Facebook Post - 11 minutes ago: " Hello Facebook friends from Another Side of Vietnam Oatmeal. Am I friendly? Am I not friendly? The TOI TU HOC English Club told me that I am not friendly. They have never met me before. However, they are assuming things about me. A similar thing happened yesterday with the Saigon American English Club. The Drink&Talk English Speaking Club does not seem to be interested in having native English speakers. It seems that I was also not welcomed at the Grace Cafe Saigon or even the Master's Cup Coffee House, Saigon, Vietnam. Since 2012, while I've been in Vietnam, students ask me if they can practice English with me. Sometimes, they come and sometimes they don't. People tell me they want to be my friend. They tell me that I am a good teacher. They tell me that they want to see me again. They tell me that they will help me find students, housing, things, friends, girlfriends, other things, work. Later, they disappear. Sometimes, I find them and ask them what happened, and they tell me, in one way or another, that they actually do not like me. They do not want to see me ever again. If you do not like me, then why did you say that you like me? That is called lying. Why did you say that you want to see me again if you do not want to see me again? A Vietnamese girl borrowed 4.000.000 VND from me. That was back in June 2013. I am not sure if she will ever pay me back. I thought she was my friend. She said she was coming to Saigon. She lives in Hanoi. I knew her. I trust her. She said she lost her wallet. Another girl stole another 4.000.000 VND from me. The Tan Van Foreign Language School, in the Go Vap District, stole 60.000.000 VND from me. The New Star Language Center, in Bac Ninh, Vietnam, stole over 20.000.000 VND from me. This list goes on and on. Joey Arnold. The moral of the story is that you should be more honest. The truth will come out eventually. If you lie to me, I will seek to reveal just that. I may just find the truth someday. No sense to delay it." 03:40 AM: Margaret Nguyễn commented on my Facebook status: "Don't be sad."

Kyo York: "Who is this original oatmeal character??"

2013-11-25 - Monday - 09:35 AM - Kyo York - Facebook Post: "Đây là Fan của Kyo tại miền Tây, Kyo gặp khi đi lưu diễn, Các bạn nhìn có vẻ "bụi" nhưng thật ra rất hiền và đã rất mắc cỡ đến và nói run run với Kyo....." Original Oatmeal - 27 minutes ago: "What makes him so lucky?" Kyo York - 5 minutes ago: "Who is this original oatmeal character??" Me - a second ago: "I like eating Oatmeal. You are what you eat. I like being original. I have been in Vietnam since 2012 teaching English. Some people call me Oatmeal. There is not a lot of it in Vietnam. I like your videos. I know a few Vietnamese words. I make videos. I play guitar, piano, sing. But you're more a hot boy than I am. I don't have any plans of leaving Vietnam. I plan to stay for the next few years or longer. You do inspire me. I am a character. I try my best to have the best character that money can buy. You enjoy smiling in your music videos. Videos truly can inspire the best out of people."

Obama is the Anti-Christ?

2013-11-25 - Monday - 06:21 PM - I shared the Barack Hussein Obama Is The Anti Christ! article which was written by William Wallace in the Liberty Digest. The article begins: "I heard a pastor today in the pulpit. The pastor was a good friend. He was talking about the end of days. I walked up to him calmly after service. I said to him, “do you think that Obama is the Anti-Christ?” He looks at me and laughed. Calmly he sits down his bible, leans over, and very calmly said, “Son, if he’s not, he defiantly harbors the spirit.”" I cannot find this article as of 2019. It must have been taken down. Wasn't William Wallace in Brave Heart? They shall take our lives but they shall never take our freedom.

Rest In Peace

2013-11-26 - Tuesday - 08:21 PM - Lincoln Hawk's grandpa died. Rest in peace. I commented on that Facebook post: "For a minute, I did not know who was in that coffin. The comment above mine made me think that somebody younger went on to see Christ. Sorry for your lost."

Thu Duc English

2013-11-27 - Wednesday - I taught English to the employer and employees at Exim Hoàng Sa Nutrition: 89E, Đữơng 48, Khu Phố 6, Phừơng Hiêp Bình Chánh: quận Thụ̀ Đuc, HCM. Taught the children: Wednesdays & Thursdays: 05:30 - 07:00 PM: 118 Số 26, Hiệp Bình Chánh: quận Thủ Đức, HCM: starting 2013 November 27th: Teach Children: about 11 children, ages 7 - 12 apx with Trịnh Kim Thư.

Tiffany Lo

2019-11-29 - Friday - 06:15 AM: Tiffany Lo: Facebook Expat Group: "Do u think we need to make some meetings n invite Joey comes to have communications with us??" I did go with her and a foreign man with glasses to a place for eating dinner once. She paid for me and got mad at me for having to pay. But she asked if I wanted her to pay and I said ok. Long story, I guess, but if you ask me, I'll say ok.

Pé Chảnh

2019-11-30 - Saturday - 05:36 PM: I wrote to Pé Chảnh: "I like guitar. That picture is in the city of Da Lat.Can you speak Vietnamese??" She replied: "I don't speak English well."

Up Speak 2013 - Forced to Pay - Classroom - There Only Once 1404470_570132996388771_346705549_o.jpg
Up Speak English
Infowars Activism Forum

Chronology of My Biography

1920's - 1960's - 1980's - 1985 - 1986 - 1987 - 1988 - 1989 - 1990's - 1990 - 1991 - 1992 - 1993 - 1994 - 1995 - 1996 - 1997 - 1998 - 1999 - 2000's - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2005 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014 - 2015 - 2016 - 2017 - 2018 - 2019
- Infowars Activism Forum -

Z Coffee 2013 1382208_769060909777018_1877789716_n.jpg
Z Coffee - I used to drink and teach at this cafe