You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stumbling Past

in #j5 years ago

Free Geek

2010-11-12 - Friday - 01:12 PM PST - Linux Questions - Registered: Nov 2010 - Posts: 153 - Original Poster - Rep: Reputation: 1 - I continued in my thread from Thursday: "Dear everybody, thanks.

@TobySGD: I always thought RAID was a kind of PC with tons of HDs or RAM or all of that working together as a server or video-game-playing monster with fans and everything. I have two other HDs, too, & I may just try the RAID thing someday. Free Geek is open Tuedays through Saturdays, 11am to 7pm, & they are good at helping people, even people like me. But it's kind of far away from me right now. I might ask them for help if all else fails. I don't have a car right now. Just a bike.

@Soadyheid: vacuums may cause static? I didn't know. Ok.

@Slinx: I've tried Testdisk, & several others already & failed.

@Marozsas: Are there really beeping alarms in BIOS? Ok, I went into my BIOS and found no alarms turned on. So, I don't think that is the problem, or the main problem.

My Plan Now

You already know that I accidentally deleted stuff off my two hard drives. One of them is probably slowly dying due to those noises. "Tell me something we don't know now man, will you?" Ok.

I have two other hard drives (20GBs & a 40GBs I think). Should I be using my (those) other hard drive(s) as my master & attempt to to fix the other(s) which will be the slave drive? Or do they really have to be in a whole other computer?

I have heard that you can try fixing these kinds of problems via booting up into the master HD, going into the terminal in order to use Testdisk (or other tools) to try going into the slave HD for attemptive restoration of the slave HD(s). Anyways, I already tried Testdisk & several others but I will continue looking for others & will continue asking & searching for help & will not rest until then.

What didn't work so far:
Testdisk."