Off roading with a street bike in mountainous Japan

in #japan-newbie6 years ago

bike 2.jpg

Riding season is still a few weeks off but I wanted to run my tires down before getting my spring tire change. Our GPS showed a curvy mountain road that quickly became off-road but it was so much fun we followed it to the top. Once there I decided to relive my old teenage moto cross days and proceeded to do donuts and burn outs around the empty dirt on what I had wrongfully assumed was an empty mountain top..

bike 3.jpg

A close-up of my current bike. A 2017 Yamaha MT-03. Not a dirt bike and currently outfitted with nearly bald Battlax Sport tires!

bike 5.jpg

A close-up of the fun my sports tires had to endure! Unfortunately after parking the bikes we walked over the crest to see the other side of the little mountain, and to my horror we saw a campsite full of sleepy campers at 9 am. I was mortified because I had just been ripping around the back dirt park. Luckily I have a stock exhaust and it probably wasn't terribly loud. We quickly made our exit after that and I forgot to take a picture of the campgrounds in my haste! I've marked it on my maps though and will probably try camping there for a night later this year. Quietly of course!