Japan in Germany

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

Every year there is an event called Japan Day in Düsseldorf, Germany. Last year, more than 700,000 visitors attended the event. Including me. ( ͡°ω ͡°)

The purpose of Japan day is to discover the japanese culture. Well... if the japan day really represents the japanese culture then Japanese population are 80% anime characters and 20% emo. (☉౪ ⊙)

Have a look at the pictures we took and you'll know what I'm talking about. ° ͜ʖ ͡ -

And maybe you can tell me how much this really displays your culture. ȏ.̮ȏ
Because I think it doesn't do very much.

What I expected

bonsai-3125715_1920.jpg

japan-1750129_1920.jpg

Toshihana_tea_ceremony.jpg

What it turned out to be

The first impressions on the street as we were walking to the festival.

IMG_0702.JPG

First impression after arriving.

IMG_0742.JPG

And ..... more of the same .....

IMG_0780.JPG

IMG_0852.JPG

IMG_0745.JPG

IMG_0700.JPG

IMG_0809.JPG

IMG_0815.JPG

Well, you might say that's this selection of pictures might be my individually and doesn't really reflect the event.

Well, if you don't believe in my pics, take a look at the pictures that german media published about the event:

http://www.rp-online.de/nrw/staedte/duesseldorf/japan-tag-in-duesseldorf-2017-die-schoensten-bilder-bid-1.6833885

NOW MY URGENT QUESTION

Is this really what Japanese culture is about????!!!

Sort:  

Actually I've never been to Japan myself but I think that comic, computergames, cosplay etc is a real big deal in the urban japanese culture these days.

You should ask @kaigen about Japan, he's living there 😉