Sakura Diary 2018: My Favorite Cherry Blossoms Spots in Japan

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

I have been living in Japan for quite some time now but I still get crazy about sakura(cherry blossoms). Sakura is one of my favorite things in Japan. It made realize that I made the right decision to stay in Japan.I have a lot of free time when I was a student so I was able to travel around and chase sakura in different parts of Japan. Here are some of my favorite sakura spots in Japan.

Kintai-kyo bridge (Iwakuni, Yamaguchi-ken)
I am fascinated with bridges and sakura so this has always been in my bucketlist. Kinta-kyo was amazingly built without a single nail. Luckily, in the spring of 2012, I embarked on 5-day Sakura chasing trip from Tokyo-Nagoya-Okayama-Hiroshima-Iwakuni. It was too far from Tokyo but worth the long train ride. I think this place would be nice as wedding venue.

Best time to go (2018 forecast): April 1-9

Directions from Tokyo: Kintaikyo is around 15-20 minutes bus ride from Iwakuni or Shin-Iwakuni station. Iwakuni is around 5H Shinkansen ride from Tokyo.

Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park(Hiroshima)
Many feared that Hiroshima would become a wasteland after atomic bombing in World War II. Seeing how Hiroshima was reduced to ashes after the bombing, I was impressed by the resilience of this city. This shot of Genbaku dome(Atomic bomb dome) with the cherry blossoms epitomise that life could go on after a catasthrophe.

Best time to go (2018 forecast): April 1-9

Directions from Tokyo: 15 minutes tram ride line 2 or 6 from Hiroshima station. Hiroshima is around 4H Shinkansen ride from Tokyo

Chuo University/Keio-Horinouchi/ Tama-Center
I know I’m biased if I say that the best sakura trees that I’ve ever seen were in my university and around neighborhood. I’m so lucky that I live and study in a very good place. Most of the time, I have the park all for myself so I could do some creative pictures.

Best time to go (2018 forecast): March 29-April 6

Directions from Tokyo: Chuo University( Chuodaigaku-meiseidaigaku station of the Tama Monorail), Keio-Tamacenter of Keio-Sagamihara line or Keio-Horinouchi

Fuji Five Lakes( Kawaguchiko)
Mt. Fuji is my other favorite thing about Japan. I always believe that good things happen every time I see Mt. Fuji. The combination of Mt. Fuji and cherry blossoms is such lovely view.

Best time to go (2018 forecast): mid-April-end of April

Directions from Tokyo: Train via Fujikyuu Railway or bus from Tokyo area.

Fort Goryokaku(Hakodate, Hokkaido)
I was a too late for the cherry blossoms in Hirosaki(Aomori) so I decided to hop on the ferry and chase cherry blossoms in Hakodate. Fort Goryokaku, a star-shaped fortress, was built to protect Hakodate in the last year of Edo period. For the panorama view of the fortress, you have to go up to the observation deck of Goryokaku Tower.

Best time to go(2018 forecast): May 2-9

Directions from Tokyo: 9.5 H bus ride from Tokyo + 4 H ferry ride from Aomori; 4H Shinkansen ride from Tokyo; 1.5H flight from Tokyo

Central Tokyo: Chidorigafuchi, Shinjuku-gyoen, Sarue-Onshi Park
Hanami(flower-viewing) in Central Tokyo can be so crowded and stressful. But some spots like Chidogafuchi is worth the effort. It’s so packed that you have use some ‘ninja skills” to take good photos. For some relaxing hanami spots, I recommend Shinjuku-gyoen and Sarue-Onshi. Shinjukugyoen forbids bringing of alcoholic drinks inside so you won’t see annoying drunk picnic-goers. Saruen-Onishi is also a nice spot with a view of Tokyo Skytree.

Best time to go(2018 forecast): March 29- April 6

Directions from Tokyo: Chidorigafuchi(Kudanshita station of Hanzomon, Tozai, and Shinjuku line); Shinjuku-gyoen( Shinjukugyoenmae station of Marunouchi line); Sarue-Onshi Park( Sumiyoshi station of Shinjuku line)

Kansai: Osaka and Kyoto
In 2011, took refuge in Osaka for a few weeks after the 3/11 earthquake. It was good time to relax and run away from the chaos in Tokyo. In 2013, I visited Kyoto with my sister and my friends but sakura trees were past their peak when we arrived so I’m planning to go back to see the sakura trees in full glory.

Best time to go(2018 forecast): March 31-April 8

Directions from Tokyo: 7-8H night bus from Tokyo, 2.5H Shinkansen ride from Tokyo

References
Sakura 2018 Forecast

http://www.japan-guide.com/sakura/

Trains

http://www.hyperdia.com/en/

Sort:  

Congratulations @aryan524! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @aryan524! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!