You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Can't Go Home

in #japan4 years ago

I read something recently that said they were making a few exceptions to this policy and that one of the conditions where they would allow someone entry into the country is if he/she had left Japan prior to the ban being put in place. I think you would fall under that category. I would have your wife contact the embassy in Japan on your behalf and try to get the process started over here while you work on it from the States.

Sort:  

I called the embassy here, they told me to contact immigration in Japan. Wife called immigration today. Yes, since I am married to a Japanese and have gaijin card I can return, but there are two problems. 1. I have to take a COVID test and self quarantine for 14 days regardless of the outcome. 2. I have to be picked up from the airport by a friend or relative. The latter is a problem because my wife doesn't have her license yet and we don't want to ask family or friends. So we are going to play it by ear until July 1 to see if Japan eases any restrictions. Crazy times man.

Hope you and the Fam are ok.

I’m glad to hear that you sort of have options. That is a problem, though, isn’t it. If I lived closer to Tokyo, I’d be happy to pick you up. Let me know how things work out.

Ya. The wife was planning on getting her license then COVID hit. Now we're in a holding pattern. Will do.

Bad timing, ehh?