Amanohashidate, Kyoto Japan spring motorbike tour in the snow!

in #japan6 years ago

kyoto thumb.jpg

My Yamaha motorcycle club went on the years first full tour expecting a beautiful spring ride..It was not the case!
The ride from Osaka was pleasant and the highway was fast and smooth, however the weather quickly changed the moment we arrived at the famous Amanohashidate lookout.

IMG_20180408_104555.jpg

The weather turned just after I took this photo and a squall followed by a flurry of snow overtook Kyoto and soaked all of us!

IMG_20180408_105009.jpg

Looks delicious!? Had the weather been better I might have challenged the biggest one!

IMG_20180408_110335.jpg

Instead I couldn't resist the black sesame soft serve cone! Because it was snowing and everyone was freezing and soaked, they thought I was crazy to be eating ice cream. I answered I am Canadian and a little snow would't dissuade me from missing out on Goma soft serve! It was everything I had hoped for and I still think they all missed out!

IMG_20180408_100101.jpg

Out in the countryside its only tiny gas stations and full serve. We had to lineup and it took almost half an hour to get all 20 bikes filled up.

IMG_20180408_140903.jpg

I have no idea what this sign is trying to tell me, can anyone translate?

Hopefully the next tour we can actually get some nice scenery shots and make it to a local restaurant! Keep safe out there fellow riders and Steemians.

Sort:  

this looks amazing, you must be a very experience rider to ride on the snow.

It says that pedestrians should not enter the highway:D

Thank you Shogo! I thought it was be careful playing Pokemon GO!