Mino monkeys, temples and waterfall in Hyogo Japan

in #japan6 years ago

mino 1.jpgMino waterfalls is a famous and easily accessible nature spot near central Osaka. Any level of fitness should be enough to get to the falls! The first sign I saw was this warning about feeding the monkeys. Most of them have been moved to the north side of the mountain because of how pesky they have become to the visitors. Apparently they are clever enough to take money and use the vending machines to buy snacks and drinks. A local told me they had to change the vending machine prices so that a single coin couldn't buy a drink. I guess they hoped that the monkeys couldn't calculate different values of coins! Unfortunately now seeing monkeys is quite rare and if you do you are not supposed to interact with them. A fine of 10,000 yen or about $100 U.S. dollars can be issued.

mino 2.jpg

The whole walk from the station or parking lot is scenic and dotted with temples, a winding river and Japanese inns and restaurants. A local specialty is the deep fried maple leaves and many open stall shops along the way are frying them for customers. Unfortunately I didn't get a picture of them!

mino 3.jpg

After about 30 minutes of walking I reached the main attraction. A small, but beautiful fall and the source of the river I walked along to reach it. A few monkeys ran past me but I missed the opportunity to get a photo. mino 4.jpg

I wandered into the biggest local temple. It was immaculate and completely empty. It felt very peaceful having the place to myself, but I wasn't sure what to do so I left rather quickly!

I came by motorbike but taking the Hankyu line train is just as easy. If you're in Osaka please consider taking a morning trip to Mino!