Hello from Japan, Fellow steemians!

in #japan7 years ago

Hello everyone!

My name is Max and I am a Canadian living in Japan. I've made a nice life here over the last year, and I would love to share it with you all. My page will be aimed at relating to my audience some wonderful travel experiences and photos, in addition to answering any questions you have about Japan or myself down in the comments! This is me at my recent trip to kinkakuji (golden temple) in Kyoto. It's such a beautiful city.

My interests include fishing, reading, studying, travel and finance. I want to follow people with the same interests and exchange ideas.

This is my town. Its very peaceful, and I am one of the few foreigners who live here. It's been tough at times (like when walking down the street becomes an all eyes-on-you affair, when you least want to be seen) but its also been an amazing learning experience that I wouldnt change for the world. This town will be my home for quite awhile longer.

Here is a standard lunch I had near a temple. The cost was equivalent to about 6 USD. In the bowl is "oyakodon" which means mother and son bowl. Can you guess what kind of meat is in there? Also, some aspects of japan are like going back in time- like smoking indoors just about everywhere. Personally I love it, but I could see non smokers having a bad time with that. Want to learn more about the food? Just ask!

And finally, as woodworking is one of my favorite passtimes, Japan's beauty is magnified. The subtle detail in the ancient woodworking is amazing, and Im working hard to learn the traditional techniques. This is the front entrance to Nijo castle in Kyoto, the city with the most beautiful and ancient wooden buildings in the world.

Well that's all for now. Please stay tuned for more if you want to see and hear about Japan! Any questions or comments you have will be adressed.
Since I'm new to blogging, I would love to hear some input in the comments below, what are you interested in seeing/hearing about? Are there other Japanophiles lurking about ? ;)

Kampai!

Sort:  

Wow! Looking forward to more posts from you, keep up the good work! Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Thanks man! Sure

Great introduction - Japan sure is a fascinating place to visit even as a gaijin with eyes all on you.

It sure is, thank you for your comment good sir

Hello @hashijoozu. Japan looks like an amazing culture to learn.

Welcome to steemit!!
Cheers from a traveller in Ecuador.

Ecuador, sounds nice. I want to visit!!!

Cheers mate

hey there & welcome :)

Thanks!

welcome :)

This post received a 3.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sunnypictures! For more information, click here!

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Max.
It looks so interesting living in Japan, High Paw!! :-D

IMG_9051.PNG

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Welcome @hashijoozu aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thank you man. I want to make it bigger

Takenitba day at a time and invest in yourself. Steem power is the thing to have so if you can afford to

hello Hashijoozu I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thank you khun!

A new Steemian :-) hello @hashijoozu I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome! Followed. Follow me back 😘

hi! @hashijoozu ! Oyakodon looks delicious!!! yummy!!!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment