Japan - why did you move/settle here?

in #japan7 years ago

Just like fashion and music, the travel industry goes through cycles and trends, and I guess today Japan is certainly trendy. Ramen shops are the thing in NYC (well they're popping up everywhere), how to make sushi at home recipe books litter the Internet and bookstores, and of course, anime, vocaloid and manga are firmly entrenched in teenage and young adult culture.

But when I moved here in 2001, for what was supposed to be an 18-month working holiday adventure, the reason was not so clear. I wasn't into manga, anime, martial arts or calligraphy. I knew nothing of the languge, the culture and had only skimmed through a few pages of Japanese history in my parent's Britannica.

I honestly can't really say why I decided to come here - perhaps it was the World Cup of 2002, the bleak job prospects facing uni graduates in Melbourne at that time, or the whole-hearted recommendation of a high school buddy. Whatever the reason(s), my decision was greeted with surprise, disagreement and even disgust. "What do you wanna go there for?"

But now, only 16 years later, if someone tells of their desire to move to Japan, they're probably told, "Wow, that's cool" or "Sounds great". I guess my question is simple, what's changed?

Is it information; are people now so informed about Japan (and the world in general) that moving here isn't such a big step anymore? Is it education? Japanese language classes appear to be offered in far more schools and education systems than in my high school days. Is it just a trend? Who knows?

image

Peace and tranquility, important in many aspects of Japanese life - nature, cultural pursuits, even cuisine. (Japan Sea in autumn)

That said, I certainly know why I'm still here. There are the obvious and most powerful candidates, those being family, friends and employment. Then comes the peaceful, drug-free society in which Japanese people co-exist, especially outside of major cities. Finally, the cultural aspects including art, music, cuisine and history.

So for all you Steemians out there who lived in Japan at some stage or live here now, please comment on what brought you here and what kept or still keeps you here.

Thanks.

Sort:  

Great questions. Maybe in part what has changed is how connected the world is. It has never been easier to travel, many of my friends have visited Japan, which would have been unheard of some years ago. Social media such as Steemit also helps with communication and getting to know people at the other side of the world.

You're right. People have so much information about where they'll live or what challenges they'll face, and even what kind of people they'll befriend. In a way, it's a shame - takes the fun out of travel and moving. But on the flip-side, reduces culture shock and homesickness (I guess)

This is a great question. For some reason I have been fascinated since I was a kid in the 80s growing up with the first big wave of all things Japanese. It planted a seed. I moved there as a DJ in 2001 and never looked back. It's not the easiest place to live with all the rules and expectations, but it's a wonderful place if you can get through those.

Appreciate your comment @rt395. Completely agree with the rules and expectations bit, but it has gotten a little easier after all these years. Unlike you, I came here on a bit of a whim, but the fascination you mentioned soon hit me. Cheers.

Yes I have a fried in Brazil who will enjoy this!

Japan is peaceful and Zen and nature, they ened to invest in radioactive cleanup for fukushima but io KNOW we can do it!

Thanks for your comment @ackza. Feel free to resteem it to your friends, I'd like to hear their ideas. You're right about the peace, Zen and especially nature - it's nice to have four distinct seasons. Completely agree with your Fukushima comment - though it may take some time. Have a good weekend

Congratulations @outsiderlookin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!