5 Days In Japan: Day 3 Tokyo Skylines

in #japan6 years ago

This is the third in a series of 5 posts this week focusing on Japan. The topics will be in this order, Travel, Temples, Skyline, Food and Crypto. 

In case you missed the first two days of this series they are here:

Day 1 - Hanami 

Day 2 - Temples

After living in Tokyo off and on since 2001 you would think I would have visited the government buildings in Shinjuku before. After all they have free observation decks in both towers that offer 360degree views of the city. Amazingly it was only 2 weekends ago that I finally made it up and I am so glad I did. Let's have a look around the city from 45 stories up!

When you arrive at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Buildings in Shinjuku it is easy to get to the reserved elevators going up to the observation decks. There are signs that you can miss and usually lines of people waiting to go up.

The elevator ride up takes about 1 minute of uncomfortable silence and squirming to avoid looking at one another, even amongst all the foreigners. We're strange like that aren't we?

Once the doors open it all goes away as you pour onto the 45th floor which has a 2 story high ceiling making it more grand. Immediately to the left are the first banks of windows looking out over Shinjuku station.

Most of the buildings have been there since I first arrived in 2001. Only the building on the right with the giant eye and crisscrossed exterior is new. It's really not the best view since all of the skyscrapers obstruct too much of the view though.

As we wind around the windows clockwise we get to the next view of Skytree off in the distance.

Next we see the Docomo Tower and behind it the Imperial Palace and Marunouchi, the financial district which includes Tokyo Station.

Now we reach my favorite part of the city, Shibuya which is on the right just beyond Yoyogi Park in the center. Roppongi and Tokyo Tower are to the left of Yoyogi.

And the last photo before moving to the west tower. I like this picture a lot, but can't quite figure out why...

Now we head over to the north tower to get better views of the area where I live.

Of of the first pictures I took surprised me. This guy seemed lost 202 meters, 45 stories above ground.

This is a view west. The sprawl of this city makes Los Angeles look small.

Then we look a bit more north west.

As we look to the ground we are reminded it's a long way down. It seems there was some event going on at the park below.

And finally we wind up looking at Shinjuku station.

Actually I just noticed I had another view of that Lord Sauron type building. I believe it is a design university.

That's it! It's a pretty amazing activity you can do in Tokyo for free. I would definitely recommend putting it into your schedule if you plan on visiting Tokyo. That goes for you too @rawselectmusic!

Both towers have gift shops and cafe's on the 45th floor. The northern tower's cafe is much nicer though, like a nice restaurant incase you are hungry. Neither place will break your budget either.

Tomorrow I'll be back with everyone's favorite subject, food! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

You got a 2.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rt395!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

country so beautiful

In more ways than one.

what it is?

Hey what a nice photos, thanks for share!) If you like epic cinematic photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be an honor to me! :)

Thank you @lveecze. I see you're in Prague! Followed as I'd like to know more about your corner of the world. Also, I was a skater. Lived near Tony Hawk & Danny Way growing up. They used to come skate our ramps and we would go skate theirs. Fun times.

Thanks for follow) will bring more of the Prague to my posts. Whaaat? what a coincidence, I actually envy your childhood now, living and skating with tony hawk and danny way must have been also great experience! Thanks for share)

Enjoy and have fun! Love Japan❤️❤️

You and me both Phillip! Thanks

I like the sound of free observation decks

Do they have any free one's in your neck of the woods? Maybe it would be a good idea to compile them? I know of another one in Tokyo.

How's the air quality over there in Japan?

It looks very developed, so I wonder if there's problems with it...

Air quality is pretty good in Tokyo compared to LA & So. Cal, unless China is having a bad day. We get their bad air all the way over here. Oh, and allergy season is hell which is right now..

I'm really enjoying your tour of Japan. Looking forward to the next installments :)

Thanks @mattlovell. Hope you guys are doing good back in Cali.

That's some nice view at the top. We haven't been up there too. Not even Tokyo skytree or Tokyo tower. LOL.

Next time you visit you must go to the towers. You can't beat free in Tokyo!

This is a good view, beautiful place, regards.

きれいな景色ですね!

そうですね。いたことある?

So nice blog post! I've been there once and seen also the city from the Radio tower (orange one). it was such a nice views, to see it to so far away from the tower. Upvoted once again + Resteemed

Very cool... The picture you like a lot, could it be the clouds in that part of the sky, and also the 3-step buildings there. Hmmm, seems we also have a Lord Sauron-type building which is coming up fast...

I can't play place my finger on it.... the 3 step building has something to do with it though. I have always liked that building. Thanks.