5 Days Of Japan: Day 1 Travel Under The Sakura Trees For Hanami

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

This is the first in a series of 5 posts this week focusing on Japan. The topics will be in this order, Travel, Temples, Skyline, Food and Crypto. 

Saturday I walked from Shimokitazawa to Naka Meguro to see the old neighborhood. I was on my way to Shibuya to meet with the manager of the Ruby Room and to promote Crypto Night at a party.  I say the old neighborhood because I lived in Shimokitazawa about 16 years ago and this is the route I used to skateboard on my way to Shibuya.  So much has changed since then, but the path remains the same. Come walk with me under the sakura trees during Hanami.

I can't remember where the path begins, but it goes through Shimokitazawa as it follows a small creek leading down to the ocean. Along the way there are residences and even small cafe's & restaurants giving it an old European feeling. I've never been to Europe, but I imagine there would be some areas like this to enjoy life.

The route is lined with Japan's famous sakura trees. During spring the trees bloom with beautiful pink flowers that last a few days and then begin to shed their blooms. The petals rain down softly almost like a pink snow and collect on the ground in carpets of pink.

All around Japan nature is respected and cared for. You often see these post supporting important tree branches so the tree can continue to provide us with it's beauty.

One of my favorite shots along the route was a portion of the stream filled with sakura petals.

Just beyond the shot above Shibuya comes into view. I had been walking for about 15 minutes now and it was about another 10 minutes before I would get to Naka Meguro.

I recalled there was a small wall I use to skate on around here, doing tricks on it, but as I walked it seemed to have been torn down and some new mansion or another had been built in it's place. Real estate is so expensive in this area that anytime something old is for sale it is torn down and replaced by something modern.

Of course the path and the stream survive though. And with it, the koi.

You may be able to make out the common, dark koi, but the white and orange one stole the show.

Beyond the koi fish we reach the main expressway into Shibuya and other areas of Tokyo. At this point we are almost to Naka Meguro and the famous, picturesque waterway lined with sakura trees, restaurants and retail shops. I love this area and hope to live here in the future.

Another block and we've arrived at the Meguro River. If you come to Tokyo, Naka Meguro is a must visit, especially at night or during sakura season.

During sakura season the trees are decorated with pink & white sponsorship lamps. In the winter time instead of lamps they just use light bulbs, but they look fantastic at night.

Both times of year the river attracts large crowds. Everyone is there to take photos and enjoy nature.

As you get closer to the station the crowds become denser and more lively. There are also many more vendors serving food and drinks.

I stopped at this little food court when I saw the BEER sign. Japan is in the height of a craft beer boom and there are always new micro brewers floating around at festivals. This was no exception.

The brewer's name is Kokage. I ordered a nice pale ale for about $7. It was actually a very good, balanced pale ale. Cheers!

It seems the iPhone was out of focus...

The closer I got to the station the more and more champagne vendors I saw. As this vendor poured the bottles, the empties were placed at the entrance. It looked really nice and in my mind added more festivity to the event.

I was able to get two more shots before I headed to Shibuya for the night. The second is a panorama of the river with the station on the left.

The route I took is a 4.1 kilometers and takes about 40 - 50 minutes to walk. It's well worth it though.

Than for reading. Check back tomorrow for A trip to a temple in Hachioji.

Sort:  

A wonderful walk! Cherry Blossoms. Beautiful spectacle. I really understand all these people who went out for a walk to enjoy the beautiful spectacle. So many petals and they look like pink snow. Thanks @rt395

Thank you @madlenfox. I have you for inspiration when out photographing the city. Cheers!

It is the best season for walking ^ ^
Cherry blossoms are really beautiful!

そうですね。今日は多摩川に行きますよう!ありがとう!

Japan is so beautiful right now! I really wish I had the funds and the time to come spend another few weeks out there! My friend told me I have to come see the sakura so hopefully next year I will be able to do it!

Ya dude. It's the best season, but only by a little. Every season here is awesome. We'll be waiting for you and Crypto Night's doors will be open.

BTW, I am starting @DjsOnSteem as a Steem DJ collective. Let me know if you are interested.

Hope your events are doing well up in Sac.

Its my birthday in a few days as well so it would have been magical to spend this time in Japan but im definitely working on lining up a few months in Japan soon!

I would love to be part of the group, just let me know more about it when you get the chance.

Also the last event we did we had The Cenobites come out and they threw down some killer DnB for 5 hours! I think DLive will have the video up in the next day or so.

Did you join discord? What is your user name there?

Should be the same as on here, Threebagsfull

Awww... I totally enjoyed the walk with you! 😊 And wish it actually took 40-50 mins! Thank you for showing us around and taking us with you... Looking forward to your next episode...

Thanks @ackhoo. This time around it probably took me about two hours after stopping to observe everything. It was an awesome walk though.

On my way out to get more photos for the next episode!

Wow those trees look soo cool. Chandon thats a drink! Upvoted & Resteemed :)

Thanks @doznet. I am not a champagne drinker, is Chandon popular??

Thanks so much for this #walkwithme, the sakura flowers are a sight for sore eyes...how magical! I loved the fish too, the whole place looks very alive. Enjoy!

Thank you @lyndsaybowes for the concept. Tokyo is a city for walking and there are treasures everywhere you go. Cheers!

Cheers to you too, I'll be looking forward to more xo

わたしも先日、目黒川の桜を見に行きました!
屋台たくさんあって良いですよね^^

すごい楽しかったですね!

桜がとても綺麗ですね。
私も、よく知ってる所です。
小さな川は、初夏に花がとても綺麗に咲きますよ。
また、夏になると子供たちがザリガニ釣りを楽しみます。
A cherry tree is very beautiful.
I'm the place I know well, too.
A small river flowers very beautifully in early summer.
When summer comes, children enjoy crayfish fishing.^^

中目黒よくに行きます。あの場所好きです。

Wonderful post! Very good photos. Especially, I like the last one.

Thank you @koto-art. I actually took many photos with my digital camera that I did not post. Those are much better than the ones I took with my Iphone. Maybe I'll share them in a future post.

Great! I want to buy a nice digital camera someday near future! I like your photos very much.