Sort:  

I've been studying mandarin pretty intensely this year, and one of things that worked best for me was language reactor. It is a web browser extension that "overlays" video networks (in particular, I use it with netflix).

It can slow down tv shows to different speeds, to make the dialogue easier to hear. It can stop a show after every line of dialog, and you can hover over individual characters to get their meaning and pronunciation, plus you can mark the characters you know in one color and the ones you are in the process of learning in another. You can also see upcoming and past subtitles in a side "dialogue" window.

At the beginning, I found it useful to go "line-by-line" until I learned enough vocabulary. Now I tend to watch shows in regular mode or at .875 speed and focus mainly on my listening skills, while periodically checking the dialogue window to see if there's any characters I would like to learn (or didn't hear well).

!LOLZ

I really love video games where you go for an deep sea adventuring.
They're just so immersive.

Credit: reddit
@joythewanderer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ggggggggg

(1/6)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Never thought of learning Japanese but I bet it's a challenge to learn a language that you won't speak too often as it's not one of the main ones. But it's good to see what worked and what did not as that might apply to other languages too :)

I am not learning Japanese anytime soon but I am trying to pick up Dutch. The difference is, all the languages I have learnt so far I have done it mostly by listening. It is interesting to see how learning differs from person to person :P

The word 'りんご🍎' caught my eye! It's good to see people enjoying learning a language like you! Enjoy your wonderful moment ;)