They Are Mine - Entry for (SWC) by @jerrybanfield Supernatural Writing Contest

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

They Are Mine
"Life can be as simple as a second on the clock, but when we have been close to death, every word counts, every glance counts, every moment counts, to value life itself."

I have experienced many situations that have put my faith to the test, I have seen manifestations outside this world, miracles and demons, what you least imagine. But what happened to us, more than ten years ago, transformed our lives forever. I was not alone, we all saw and felt the same, we were all witnesses, we all went to the battle between light and darkness, we all felt the presence of God and his love in his plan, in faith, in a single sign, a word, a look and he saved us ...
It was the beginning of 2005, the flowers were in full bloom, I had dedicated all my free time to cultivate them, to fill the window boxes with green and red. My three children frolicked between the portals of the neighbors and the asphalt of the street. The day was light, joy and calm, but the night ... the night was eternal.

We had moved to a new house, away from the city, and day by day I struggled with being a "good news" housewife, because I always lived with my mother and was accustomed to the gentle motherly support.
I always took the night doing the typical trades, a husband, 3 little ones and 2 dogs. When the clock sounded its 9 chimes, the children were already under the covers and wishing us good night. My husband Ernesto started the fight between awake and asleep in front of the TV, and I just started the tasks. I remember it was Sunday, the laundry baskets for washing and ironing were almost up to date and, while we watched a suspense movie, I finished saving the last batch of shirts. It was 11:48 in the evening, and everyone was asleep and I was preparing to store my clothes when, walking towards the closet, in the deep darkness of the corridor, I could see and feel two large yellow eyes that instantly paralyzed all my body.
Arpía.jpg
It was eternal the crossing of my eyes exorbitant with that look of fire, my attempts to scream were repressed by my total paralysis, my feet were numb and my legs were two ice floes, little by little the eyes were approaching my face. Among the intense black of the corridor, I could feel his hot and nauseating gasp that ruffled my skin, the drops of sweat ran down my back and the stench seemed to penetrate every pore of my face causing intense ardor ... my failed attempts to scream were efforts without result, I could hear the barking of Harry and Samantha from a place I could not see ... my heartbeat was roar for my chest that could not find rhythm, with his loud and shrill voice told me only two words: They are mine...

I fell to my knees and when I looked up that thing had disappeared. I got up, among the clothes thrown everywhere, and ran to the adjoining room, where my children slept ... and there they were, intact, clothed, dreaming and quiet. I could not stop shaking, I could not stop feeling panic in my stomach, and I went to the living room and turned on all the lights, while looking for the old book of prayers of the grandmother. I prayed an ancient exorcism with devotion and gradually calmed down, with a weary step, to bed. I looked for the lap of my companion, stammering my story with my strong arms, silencing my anguish. I did not know when I fell asleep, and I was not sure if I had dreamed it or had been as vivid as I felt.

The sun came up and between breakfast and notebooks the morning was done, but we did not think that the departure to the school would be delayed while we looked for Harry, our Chihuahua puppy, who, by the fatigue of the night, would still be asleep. Looking for him under the armchairs he appeared almost unconscious, lying on the floor, he had all the skin on his back detached, it was a big burn, as if a flurry of directed fire had made a perfect line two fingers wide all the way through his spine. He did not complain, he only looked at us with eyes of supplication as if asking us to calm his pain, while his companion Samantha licked the deep wound. We hurried off to look for the vet who, in reviewing, did not attest to my story, and among his hurtful words, suggested that a home accident was hidden in my testimony.
Exhausted by the busy day, we returned home early and we all collaborated to update the chores.

While Valentina watered the planters, Nany ordered the kitchen and gave the snack to her little brother. Suddenly we heard a terrifying scream that made us run desperate to the garden, where horrified, I saw the hundreds of worms slip through the leaves of the withered flowers. They were burned, as if a fire extinguished their last impulses, there was no green on the geraniums and the marigolds that adorned the window of my children's bedroom. The worms boiled from the roots without having a source of provenance, they had only invaded the wilderness space. At that moment I knew that the battle had begun between the gates of hell and the doors of my heart.

Arpia 3.jpg
It was evident that something had crossed the privacy of our home, it was evident that a putrid energy wanted to feed on the purity of my children and my family.
Ernesto was responsible for getting rid of the disgusting scene, while a delicious snack calmed the little ones. I changed the bedding of the children's room, rolled the dressers and covered the window with improvised curtains to avoid remembering the episode. A disgusting smell between the sheets made me wash them that night and I spread them on the backyard ropes to dry. The usual ritual of rest was advanced, we were exhausted and we all went to bed before 9 p.m.
I opened my eyes remembering to look for the book of prayers of the grandmother when I heard the twelve chimes of the clock, and my legs began to freeze instantly. Ernesto was already awake and with his bulging eyes he pointed to the ceiling to listen to the sound of the strong and slow steps that invaded the night. You could distinguish between the claws that ripped the tiles and the drag of the heavy and tense body. A deafening croak made us jump out of bed and we ran to the children's room, where we found our little Manuel drowned in smoke and stench. Ernesto took the girls in his arms and we left the house, I carried Manuel, giving him respiratory aids while we drove to the clinic.

Arpia 1.jpg
The asthma crisis ended the next day, and we all returned home despite our confused bad memory. We did not want to go back, but we had to face what was robbing us of peace.
We found the sheets lying in the garden, perfectly chopped in half, and still the ropes smoked the remains of its high temperature. The bulbs in the rooms did not light, it seemed that an electric fault had made a short circuit. All the food in the cupboard had disappeared and Harry and Samantha were not in the house. No one had forced the doors, and someone was still inside and watching us. Only five minutes passed and the stench began to intensify, the squawks increased more and more, the stench and heat were unbearable. I took my children back to get out of that infernal episode, and while Ernesto was looking for the keys, the bolts of the doors were locked, we had no way out, the children cried in despair while Ernesto was trapped by something he could not see, struggling with the big ones claws that tightened and pierced his neck.

Arpia 2.jpg

Paralyzed with panic we watched as he bled to death, without realizing that two arms with repulsive scales began to squeeze, my children and I were airless little by little, I protected them with my body, embraced in the middle of the ominous scene, at the same time that the sharp claws stung my back. The Harpy had discovered herself on the threshold of the night, revealing her infernal, disgusting deformed body, her sharp teeth dripping with the viscous, stinking proof of her soulless existence, amid the sarcastic cackling laughter of victory for having caught her prey. Already without strength, I looked at my resigned children, and with my last breath of mother, full of love and hope I told them:
-God bless us.
We fell motionless to the slobbering and rotten floor, lost in the same hell of the unknown, when someone knocked on the door insistently, someone from outside had listened and came to help us ... The locks were unlocked and the last impulse of life lifted me from the floor, there was nothing inside the house, everything was gone, a scent of jasmine purified the room. They continued to touch the portal that, exhausted, I opened slowly to find a woman asking if the house was for sale. I immediately replied that yes, and that we were willing to do business as soon as possible.
I do not remember anything more from that day, I only know that we returned to my mother's house that same afternoon, I only know that we do not tell anyone what happened, I only know that my children are safe and sound, I only know that we are still alive, prosperous, successful and mainly we still love each other ... I only know that our life changed completely, after leaving that house, I only know that we knew hell and we went back not to tell it and never to live it again ... the blessing of God had saved us.
I give faith and testimony that this is a story of my real life ... H.D

I am very happy to participate in this wonderful initiative, I have many stories to share, experiences of the soul and the mysterious and supernatural, I hope to continue sharing them with you. Many successes to all and thanks @jerrybanfield @gmichelbkk for the support.

Sort:  

Just saw your story but it's too short @lionel.thebldrs. If you rewrite it to 1000+ words and let me know you have posted it, I will enter it in the contest.

Thank you very much @bailatelavida for writing this amazing story and submitting it to SWC. That must have been very scary! I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Thank you very much @gmichelbkk for reading my story. It is very rewarding reward in recognition of the work done with dedication and dedication. Congratulations for your work, and many successes for future contests. Always in contact. And that story is part of my family, and it was a very terrible time for us. The good thing is that it has not been repeated, God overcomes the shadow.