THE ROAD ACCIDENT: My Late Entry @jerrybanfield Supernatural Writing Contest

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

images[1][54].jpg

Before i drop my entry i will to thank @jerrybanfield for organizing this contest and for all his helpful articles for we minnows.

images[1][55].jpg

It was about 6:30am on sunday 7th april,2005 that the ill-fated journey began. I was going to visit a very old friend of mine,i was really excited to have a reunion with him. When i got to the motor park,i boarded a loading bus,not long after the journey began. As my usual manner when i enter a commercial bus,i prayed for a short while ,then i looked at the faces of my co-passengers,they were mostly market women,i was the only male and the youngest of the lot.

As the journey continued, i started perceiving the odour of indian hemp from the driver's seat,i asked him if he smoked and he said yes,shortly after he lit a wrapped substance which he referred to as "kukuye",as soon as i noticed this i felt disturbed so i demanded for my fare so i could alight the bus. The other passengers told me not to bother that everything was alright,also if i alighted i might get stranded as that place was not the garage.

I had no choice than to remain in the bus,unless i wanted to trek to my friends place. The driver's style of driving was worst than dangerous,he had no respect for traffic codes,on two occasions he was asked to stop by uniformed men but he bluntly refused. My heartbeat increased rapidly as the driver continued driving recklessly,i had never been so scared in my life.

The driver drinking became intense as he started saying trash,all of a sudden,it was like my whole life flashed in front me. I woked up in the hospital with friends and family by my side. I was among the lucky few who survived with minor injuries. I had a broken leg and a broken finger. I wished i never experienced it and i blamed it all on the driver for causing the accident.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nosmas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.