Metal detecting find

in #jewelry6 years ago

The sun came out today, so I decided to take the metal detector out to play. Went to this weird old a-frame building the city owns. Not really sure about the history on the building, but it's old. Played around there for a while without much luck. Decided to move over towards the bus stop when I found this ring. It sure is beautiful, but sadly it's not real. When I pulled it out of the ground I could see that the base metal was rusting a bit. Then I saw a 14k gold stamp, but sadly it's plated copper. After I cleaned it up more I saw a 585 stamp as well. First time I've seen a ring with a European and American gold stamps. If I ever see that again I'll be leary. Sad there are so many scammers in the world. Half the repair work I do is because people don't trust the jewelers in the shops around here. Careful buying jewelry out there. A stamp doesn't mean it's gold or silver. The lack of a stamp doesn't always mean it's fake either. You can get test kits pretty cheap if you buy a lot of precious metals. Even diamond testers are pretty inexpensive nowadays. Oh well it's a good find anyways. A ring is a ring, and I didn't have to pay for it. Hopefully whoever did went to a better jeweler for a replacement. Be sad if they got ripped off again... I guess it true "not all that is lost is gold, even if it says it is."

Sort:  

When I was a little girl, my dad and I went out with his metal detector pretty often. We played a game called Nail or Can Tab? lol

Sounds like a fun way to make those less obnoxious to find lol. You never know what's in that next hole though...

Oh, gosh, I think I thought that’s what everyone did with metal detectors! You just use them to play that game! lol

This post has received a 4.35% upvote from thanks to: @dirtyhippie.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!