Jewellery - Holly leaf necklace update

in #jewelry7 years ago (edited)

Here's another update of the holly leaf necklaces I'm making I am now soldering on the loops and jump rings that will hold both the necklace and the sea bamboo beads which will act as the berries. I know the pieces of metal don't look right at the moment but that's because it's just a matter of getting them soldered on and then bending them so it isn't ridiculous trying to get them onto the holly leaves.

Close up of the soldering work, a bit messy, this is mainly due to how careful I had to be about melting the wire, it's only 1.00mm in width, very small so if you apply too much heat directly it will actually melt off which I had happen to me once since I hadn't taken into account how delicate the wire was.

After this, I need to solder on the jump rings for the necklace chain but then that means the main portion of the soldering work is done. I'll need to clean this up and start getting the wire bent the right way and maybe even look at polishing it soon.